Install leopard from .cdr file?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dukebound85, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #1
    So I have tried to make a backup from my original leopard disk and turns out it can not be read by my first gen macbook.

    with that said, i have the .cdr image of the disk. is it possible, if i ever need to, to simply reinstall leopard from that image on my macbook?

    will the computer, once restarted be able to install from the .cdr file on the hard drive and nothing in the optical drive?

    thanks
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    No as the boot loader cannot boot to that image. You should be able to restore the image, if it was taken correctly, to an external hard drive and boot from that. This certainly works with the seeds Apple distribute to developers which are distributed as disk images.
     
  3. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    will usb 2.0 suffice for the hard drive?

    how would you make it boot to the externl as there is no bios so to speak to select boot device
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Same way as you would normally: EFI is much more powerful than a BIOS so booting from an external drive is not an issue. Hold down Option on the grey screen and it should show all bootable devices/volumes found.

    USB 2.0 would be much, much better than USB 1.0, although Firewire would be even better (assuming your Mac has firewire)
     
  5. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    i imagine a flash drive would also work correct?

    thanks for taking the time to answer these questions:)

    edit: dang, my 8 gig flash drive only has 7.47 gigs while the image is 7.5 lol
    edit 2: i can make it fit with taking out xcode from the image
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Probably, although I've not tried that.
     
  7. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    well im gonna try to put it on my flash drive and proceed to option boot on my macbook. ill let you know

    once again, thanks

    does it have to be a .cdr in order to boot, or can i do .dmg? i ask as i made the image compressed rather than DVD/CD master
     
  8. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    do you know by chance how to resize the .cdr image once i have edited it?

    for instance, i mounted the image and removed xtools only to have the size remain the same and bow see there is free space in the image. how can i get rid of that free space and make the image smaller?
     
  9. sOwL macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #9
    mhm i dont think that dropping the .cdr in the flash stick will work. Mount the .cdr file, open disk utility, and put the mounted volume in the stick, you can also adjust the size of the volume with disk utility
     
  10. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Yeah, as I mentioned above you need to use Disk Utility to restore the image back to the device.
     
  11. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #11
    i see the resize funtion but it seems to only have an option to increase the size, not decrease it to remove free space. am i missing something here by chance?
     
  12. sOwL macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #12
    mhm maybe you should use some third party program, i dont think i can help you with that sry

    Nope, you forgot to mention ;)
     
  13. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Erm, see my first post in this thread?
     
  14. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #14
    well when i restred the mounted dmg image to the flash drive and booted it worked!

    so thats great:)

    thanks
     
  15. sOwL macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #15
    yeh i mean u didnt mention to him to use disk utility :rolleyes: anyway, to the OP, good to hear you did it :)
     
  16. fourcolourblack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #16
    Sorry to resurrect this one from the grave, but I'm having problems with this. I'm on the oldest mac at work, last one running Tiger. Strangely enough no-one knows where the original Leopard discs are, but .cdr files were kept. So I've got this .cdr file but can't get it to boot.

    I've got the .cdr on an external drive, and when I click this is lands the installer on my desktop.

    Is it supposed to go onto the external hard drive? How do I use Disc Utility to do this? DO I need to wipe the drive first?

    Very confused.

    thanks.
     

Share This Page