Install Leopard on blank HD

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JefferyShin, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. JefferyShin macrumors regular

    JefferyShin

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #1
    Hi, hello.

    I dropped my MacBook , and as a result, i have a HD failure.

    So i bought a new hd (seagate 320GB).

    I have the leopard disk, but my optical drive is broken, so I had to burn it to my external hd. I folllowed all the steps, (bootable GUID partition, etc) and I connected it. After booting while holding alt, it shows my external. I click it, my mac shuts off, and turns back on, shuts off, and turns back on repeatedly.

    any ideas?

    thanks
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    You used another Mac to clone the disk? If so, just start the MacBook in target disk mode and install from the other computer.
     
  3. JefferyShin thread starter macrumors regular

    JefferyShin

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for the help,
    but I have the late 2008 MB therefore no firewire :(
     
  4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    Oh, snap. What program did you use to clone the disk onto your external hard drive?
     
  5. JefferyShin thread starter macrumors regular

    JefferyShin

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #5
    I used my friend's white poly macbook and used disk utility.
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    Hmm, that's troubling. Curse Apple for dropping the FireWire port.

    The only other idea that comes to mind offhand is to buy a 2.5" SATA enclosure and put your MacBook drive in there when installing.
     
  7. BobZune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Since OP's sig shows WD drives, here's some information to be aware of (though in this case, it won't solve the problem).

    http://forums.bombich.com/viewtopic.php?t=11152 (might want to read ALL of it).

    Note the discussion is limited to WD external drives -- future updates *may* change this information. [It is clearly a problem for PPC Macs, but unclear how applicable it is to the Intel Macs].
     
  8. appledyl macrumors regular

    appledyl

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I'm quite sure that there is a app online that enables you to boot into target disk mode. But I forgot the name of it. :confused::confused:

    I'm quite sure that there is a app online that enables you to boot into target disk mode via USB. But I forgot the name of it. :confused::confused:
     
  9. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #9
    Doesn't sound like it.
     
  10. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #10
    I just picked up an external USB2 DVD drive, instead of getting the internal fixed.

    Sort of sucks that it is faster that the Apple drive in the machine, and less trouble with different media brands.
     

Share This Page