Install Mac OS 9 Classic from within OS X 10?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by cameroncr95, Feb 18, 2014.

  1. cameroncr95 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    #1
    Ok, so, a successor topic to my previous.
    I found out that the Imac G3 disc drive was unplugged, which is why it was not working. I burned the ISO I made of my mac discs (Because the mac discs wont work due to them being really scratched, I had to use a recovery program to make the ISO), the CD is detected from WITHIN mac OS X 10.4.
    Unfortunately and inconveniently, the mac os boot menu will not detect the disc, so I cannot simply boot into the CD setup.

    So now, I am left with ONE option, and that is to try to install classic mac from inside the OS. Is this at all possible?
     
  2. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #2
    I usually just partition the drive in OS X using Disk Utility then "Restore" the ISO to the new partition. It's a dirty way of doing it, but it works.
     
  3. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #3
    Jessica Lares' idea seems pretty good, but there might be a chance of file corruption. Back up your important files before you try anything.

    As far as I know, there is no way to partition a hard drive from within Mac OS X. I think 10.5 was the first Mac OS to allow for this.
     
  4. AmestrisXServe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    #4
    That's utter nonsense.

    Both MacOS X and MacOS Classic can create partition tables. 10.5 added nothing in this context, and in fact, removed some filesystem options. (10.4 is also guilty of this.) UFS was a filesystem option until at least 10.3.

    To be honest, cloning the Installer CD is not the way to do this: Your end result will be a bootable HDD partition that is designed to Install OS9, not to run it, and the OS9 Installer can't overwrite itself.

    If you want to do this, from a HDD, you will need to copy the Installer CD to a HDD partition that is bootable for OS9, and have a spare, empty partition for the actual installation.

    You would do better to make a partition on your HDD, and use your OS9 disc image in Sheepshaver, to run the installer, first mounting the new partition as a Sheepshaver device, and install it onto that partition through the emulator. That will save you a lot of work.

    The only thing I see as problematic, is that if you did not load the OS9 device drivers onto your HDD when you installed OSX, then you will be unable to boot from the device. Be sure to select that option when creating the new partition map!
     
  5. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #5
    It's what I was told in the past, in one of my threads when I asked the same or similar question. No need to be harsh!
     
  6. AmestrisXServe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    #6
    Sorry mate. I'm not trying to be vindictive: I'm just trying to clear a misconception with sone definite finality.

    All versions of OSX Disk utility have a Partition tab.
    Mac OS 'Classic', versions 7.5 and later do as well. I don't recall if all fo System 7 (7.0, 7.01, 7.1, 7.1.x, etc.) do, as I haven't used them in ages, but even if they don't, there were always partitioning utilities. Even the Apple //gs GS/OS & ProDOS disk tools did partitioning.

    I recall having a a pair of 32MB ProDOS partitions, alongside HFS partitions, on an external Apple SC drive, under System 7, on an LC with an Apple II card.
     
  7. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #7
    Is the Disk Utility able to partition the hard drive while running Mac OS X, or does it need to be run from the OS installation disk(s)? I have never been able to find a partitioning software for Mac OS X, while there being a wide array of software capable of such for Windows, Windows even has its own built-in utility.

    If I can do this on my Power Mac G4 I might also find that quite useful.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    10.4.6 (maybe only Intell Tiger) and Leopard can partition the startup disk without a problem, but they can only do it if the OS 9 drivers are not installed and they cannot install the OS 9 drivers without erasing the drive.
     
  9. AmestrisXServe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    #9
    Your best solution is to boot from a volume other than the one that you wish to partition. As long as you don't care about wiping the volume, Disk Utility will do it all.

    Disk Utility will not be able to do this for you if you are trying to do it to the same volume as your startup disk.

    MacOS X, MacOS 9, MacOS 8, and MacOS 7 all include a utility for formatting and partitioning devices. Unlike Windows, you can add partitions to USB devices as well, however a Windows system will only see the first logical partition on any USB device.

    You can also do this kind of operation from the shell. It require no software other than the OS.
     

Share This Page