"install mac os x cannot be used from this volume"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by keekl, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. keekl macrumors regular

    keekl

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    I am attempting to upgrade to 10.6 from 10.5.8. I am using an external dvd drive if that matters. The window below is what shows up. I've repaired permissions and have read that I may need a powered USB hub for external DVD drive though I did put in a movie dvd and it ran fine.

    Thanks for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. keekl thread starter macrumors regular

    keekl

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #3
    Brand new 10.6.3
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    I know it's a different problem, so a second thread can be justified, but it would help if you let other members (a.k.a potential problem solvers ;)) know the background story.
     
  5. keekl thread starter macrumors regular

    keekl

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    :eek: Thought about it and then got distracted, sorry.

    In this case is the "volume" the disk, the drive, or current OS?
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    Seems like it means drive.
     
  7. keekl thread starter macrumors regular

    keekl

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #7
    This is a new drive~is there something I should look for on the box to see if it is the right kind?

    When I run disk utility it does not "see" the DVD drive.
     
  8. keekl thread starter macrumors regular

    keekl

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    I'm not persuaded it is the dvd drive; I put in the original Leopard install disk and it booted fine.

    I guess I'll have to call Apple about it this morning.
     
  9. keekl thread starter macrumors regular

    keekl

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    I scheduled Apple to call me at 6:00 and they did. A very nice fellow went through some diagnostics but was unable to fix the issue. He thinks it may be a corrupted HD or bad disc and recommend I take computer to store (a reseller in my case) for further diagnostics. I stumped him, but I have to say it was a very pleasant 50 minutes...all customer service should be cooperative.

    He wanted to go through a reinstall but I wasn't prepared to do that now so I may try it before taking to store.

    One thing that I can't figure is, if my HD is messed up, why don't I see any problems? I told him this machine runs as nice or nicer than when it was new. There is not one thing I can point to and say "this is bad" or "this doesn't work like it should"...other than trying to update to Snow Leopard.

    So if it is a corrupted HD (and it is almost 4 years old) it will be hilarious in that my old malfunctioning machine works far better than the "good" PCs at work:D
     

Share This Page