Install OS X over USB

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by roadbloc, Jun 12, 2014.

  1. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    My friend has acquired an eMac. The HDD was totally blank when he got it, the question mark folder appearing on startup. We tried installing a copy of Tiger on it, but unfortunately his CD drive is broken and the install would always fail.

    I'm now attempting to do a USB install. Surly doing this (see picture) will work to create one? Or is that just too easy for it to possibly work?
     

    Attached Files:

    • usb.png
      usb.png
      File size:
      171.3 KB
      Views:
      73
  2. mryingster macrumors regular

    mryingster

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #2
    That'll work. At least I'd be shocked if it doesn't. I'm positive that I've done the same thing on multiple occasions.

    Might be slower than poop though if the eMac doesn't have USB 2.0 (Not sure). If you have another machine with a firewire port, I often connect them together, and put one in target disk mode. (boot with t down), then the disks on the one computer show up on the other. Then you can just install off the CD of the computer with the working CDROM drive.
     
  3. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #3
    It's that easy. Just make sure the partition you're restoring to is set as an "Apple Partition Map" and not "GUID Partition Table" or "Master Boot Record" or it will not boot on the machine. Then install via OpenFirmware. Literally just did it on an iMac G4 not 10 minutes ago. Good luck!
     
  4. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Regretfully, it didn't work. The boot firmware refused to identify it as a startup disk.

    Would a USB CD drive work?
     
  5. boneskid1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #5
    Did you go into open firmware to boot or hold C?

    In order to boot PowerPC macs from USB your have to boot from open firmware and I think (don't quote me on this) it has to have USB 2.0.
    I would give you the command to boot, but I am at work and don't have it with me.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    USB 1.1 PowerPC Macs can boot from a USB device, only USB 1.0 Macs cannot.
     
  7. boneskid1, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014

    boneskid1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
  8. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Pressed and held Alt/Option. :)
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  10. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    No idea. My friend has no experience with Macs at all and this is the first eMac I've ever seen in real life. Since it came without any packaging, manuals or software, is there any way to tell by just looking at it?
     
  11. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #11
    Check the disc drive flap.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Thanks! I got my friend to take a photo of it.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    That's a USB 2 model. They cannot boot via USB using the Option key boot menu.
     
  14. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Not even a usb CD/DVD drive?
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Nope, you must use OpenFirmware commands to be able to boot via USB on them.
     
  16. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Bummer. Okay, thanks for the help! I'll look into some OpenFirmware commands and see if I can get it sorted.
     
  17. boneskid1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #17
    A few posts above I posted a blog URL that goes into detail on how to boot from USB using open firmware
     
  18. roadbloc thread starter macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Perfect! Thanks :)
     

Share This Page