Install problems Leopard on a dual 2.7

Discussion in 'macOS' started by misterb, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. misterb macrumors newbie

    misterb

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Dorset
    #1
    Hi Newbie here

    right i have had my cd the day of release but never installed it !! so glad i didn't
    I have dual 2.7 with 4gb ram working well with 10.4 :)

    come to install 10.5 updates fine about 2mins of it a the desktop to freezes :eek:

    I have verified the disk and checked the permissions all good
    I have tried a reinstall of 10.4 and then upgrade 10.5
    I have tried just 10.5
    all with the same result

    OMG Please help :confused:
     
  2. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #2
    Leopard issues

    hhhmmm is all your RAM from Apple?

    F
     
  3. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #3
    Have you read the forums in regards to upgrading to Leopard from Tiger? Upgrading has severely caused issues for a lot of people and it's been highly recommended to backup everything you have and do a complete erase of Tiger and a fresh install of Leopard. Also to make the experience even better don't transfer all your old stuff to Leopard using Apple's transfer assistant, it's best to install each individual app. Yes it takes hours if you have a lot of stuff however it will save you a lot of headache if you reformat and install this way.

    Also, do not install any haxies until you have your apps installed and all is running well. The APE haxie really hurt a lot of Leopard installs.
     
  4. misterb thread starter macrumors newbie

    misterb

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Dorset
    #4
    all my ram is apple.
    and i used disk utility to wipe the drive clean and do a fresh install of leopard still with the same results !!

    please keep them coming
     
  5. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #5
    Hey - this is all we have in terms of a description of the fault - would you mind going into further detail? So AFTER you complete a successful(?) installation of Erase + Install of Leopard, the desktop freezes?

    Can you boot into safe mode?
    Have you installed anything other than Leopard at this point?
    Do you have any PCI cards / USB 3rd party add-ons installed?

    F
     
  6. misterb thread starter macrumors newbie

    misterb

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Dorset
    #6
    HI firearse

    OK after a successful installation i get to the leopard desktop and the machine freezes
    I have never booted in safe mode !! how do you do that ??
    I have done a complete fresh install and do not get a chance to install any other software
    I have one card which is sonnet sata card
    all usb and firewire devices have been removed (except the keyboard and mouse !!!!)
     
  7. jakealdred macrumors member

    jakealdred

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester england
    #7
    hey
    im sure to go into safe mode you hold s at start up correct me if im wrong!
    -jake
     

Share This Page