Install Public Beta 2 over DP 6?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by smurray, Aug 22, 2014.

  1. smurray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone installed public beta 2 over DP 6? Is it worth it?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Why, its basically the same build and the DP build has updates more often the PB. I'd stick with the developer preview.
     
  3. DSeeker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Location:
    Pelham, AL
    #3
    I've gone the path PB1 -> DP5 -> DP6 -> PB2 and have had no problems with the updates. I chose to get off the DP merry-go-round because I was no longer discovering bugs. My last bug report was for DP5. Everyone uses his computer differently but for me, the way I use mine, PB2 is perfectly fine. I will now wait patiently for the general release.

    As to "worth it" it depends on what your needs and expectations are. Only you can answer that.
     
  4. DubelBoom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    #4
    I'm staying with the DP6 just because it updates more often.
     
  5. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #5
    You can probably jump back to DP7 from PB2 with no problems... :rolleyes:
     
  6. jg321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Just today I upgraded from DP6 to PB2. Typing from that system now, all looks good!
     
  7. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #7
    Just reformat the partition and install whatever you want.
     
  8. daystead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    #8
    I'm currently running DP4 and am wanting to switch to the Public Beta for the ease of upgrading when the final release comes out (I've heard upgrading from DP or GM to the retail version is somewhat tricky...maybe I'm wrong).

    Can I run the PB1 installer from DP4 directly? And then from there upgrade to PB2? Or am I going about this the wrong way?
     
  9. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #9
    Public Beta/DP is automatically upgraded to the GM, which is the retail release.
     
  10. daystead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    #10
    Perfect. So when I upgrade to GM, I won't need to then instal the retail version after? I'll just be good to go and can commence with regular updates at that time? If so, there's really no advantage or need to switch over the PB is there?
     
  11. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #11
    That's right.
     
  12. daystead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014

Share This Page