install scanner

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by stkflote, Oct 8, 2008.

1. stkflote macrumors newbie

i cant get my canon lide 60 scanner to work, get the window file may be missing or damaged tried to uninstall and reinstall i have the disc ,it was working ok
    imac aluminium o sx leopard

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

"get the window file may be missing or damaged tried to uninstall and reinstall i have the disc ,it was working ok" - what window file? I don't understand clearly, of course english was not my mother's tongue.

There should be a CanonScan application insider your applications folder, if the installation went right.

If not, you could download the latest drivers/software from the Canon support site, and try to install from that disk image or installer.

3. stkflote thread starter macrumors newbie

thankyou, there is but it still says same ive tried downloading latest driver ,problem is im not very good with the mac self taught ,scanner will work on my pc but i need to work on i mac

4. hughvane macrumors 6502

hughvane

You say you've downloaded the latest driver for Intel/Leopard from Canon, but have you actually installed the driver? Did you, for example, need to restart your computer after downloading the latest driver?

As I understand it, from reading a review of that model of scanner, that it is USB-powered, not self-powered. Perhaps that is the problem, ie. insufficient power from the Mac USB port, and you need to route the scanner though a powered USB2 hub.

5. stkflote thread starter macrumors newbie

Hughvane,
    yes i did have to restart, when i bought the imac i only had to put scanner in usb the mac promtly found it and it worked ok now its just stopped i know scanner is working if i open the canoscan tool bocx then try a scan ia menu pops up say file may be missing or damaged or can open driver im getting ready to throw the lot awa been trying about three days now i do have oridginal scanner op disc keith