Install TetherMe without Cydia?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by patent10021, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    Is it possible to install TetherMe without Cydia? This is the only reason why I'm JBing.

    Thanks
     
  2. kguerrero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    MASS, WHATS UP BABY!?!
    #2
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Really?
    Install a JB package without jailbreaking?
    Let me think about it....
     
  4. Selena Gomez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    #5
    He didn't ask if the phone needed to be jailbroken. He asked if it could be installed with Cydia, which is just a GUI.

    Yes, you can install TetherMe on a jailbroken phone with dpkg command lines in Terminal.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Read that again Selena.
    He asked if he can install it WITHOUT cydia.
    No Cydia= No Jailbreak.
     
  6. Selena Gomez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    #7
    Not really. Cydia can uninstalled, the easiest way, with Cydelete. I know what he means but I'm being technical. You don't need Cydia to be installed. Cydia is just included on all major jailbreaking tools and just makes installing JB tweaks easier than using a command prompt.

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/Foxmcweezer/763ce094.jpg

    Cydia=/=jailbreak
     
  7. patent10021, Dec 30, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011

    patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #8
    That's right. Cydia does not necessarily = JB. Cydia gets install with a JB. (and every time you open it it spends a while searching Cydia for updated language packages and then you sometimes need a respiring on top of that as well as other BS I don't need.)

    RedSn0w etc = JB. You guys must as noobish as I am.

    Thanks Selena, I'll use Cydelete.

    p.s. I meant MyWi. Same diff.


    .
     
  8. BlaqkAudio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    Theoretically, yes, you can install TetherMe without Cydia using SSH/terminal. However, TetherMe is a paid tweak/app
     
  9. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #10
    keep in mind that with out cydia finding and getting updates is going be tougher. So as the dev fixes bugs issues and improvements. Well any way I'm a noob so never mind hope your planing on supporting the dev at least.
     
  10. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #11
    Yes, I never said anything about not paying for an app. Maybe that's how you guys roll. I've had my Visa account set up at Cydia/Amazon for ages.

    MyWi was updated once the whole time I had it and that was a major update. Weekly or even monthly updates for apps like MyWi aren't necessary unless a new iOS comes along because once it works, it just works. MyWi doesn't have any bugs at least that I know of or affect me in some way so I'm not worried about it. Straight tether to my iPad and I'm good to go.
     

Share This Page