Install Yosemite on Dell E4310-Possible?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Azzin, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. Azzin, Oct 29, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014

    Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #1
    Hi gurus,

    I've just ordered a MBP for my Wife and she's kindly donated her Dell laptop to me in exchange. :p

    I'd like to have a go at getting OS X on this.

    I've created a USB drive using the latest Unibeast and Multicast, but I can't get past the initial screen (with the USB icon in the middle & what looks like a cherry at the top).

    I press enter (as I presume USB is already selected) and then I get a grey loading screen with a progress bar, but then the screen goes black and stays there.

    Can anyone help please?

    Cheers.
     
  2. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #2
    So... you want to have yourself a Hackintosh, and a laptop at that? :eek:

    From personal experience I would say that if you can't solve the problem yourself, then don't bother. Save yourself the frustration. It's one of those things that even though some people may report that it works on your hardware, there's always going to be little problems that you need to solve yourself to get it working.

    Mind you that was quite a few years ago that I tried, I don't even know what Unibeast and Multicast are, so maybe you will have some luck with a person able to help solve your problems. But I wouldn't hold my breath...
     
  3. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #3
    The Latitude E4310 is a standard BIOS setup. IIRC a requirement for a "Hackintosh" is an EFI "BIOS". That right there eliminates it from the running.
     
  4. Azzin thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #4
    It has an EFI option in the BIOS.

    Also, I've seen posts from people in the past running OS X on 4310s, so I know it's possible.
     
  5. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5
    I have Mountain Lion running on an e4310. Let me warn you, the graphics might not work, therefore, Yosemite might run like a dog on it. First, google 'Lion e4310' and apply the same trick to Mavericks, and if you are adventurous, Yosemite.
     
  6. NoBoMac, Oct 29, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014

    NoBoMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #6
    What Azzin said re: BIOS.

    Pre-iPad, I had a Dell Mini 9 Hackintosh, had BIOS, and OS X EFI was booted via Chameleon bootloader.

    http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleon/

    Was a semi-useful little machine (almost identical to then Macbook Air hardware-wise [gpu, sound]) prior to 10.6.9 (10.6.8?; at that point, could not get box to work), but even then, each OS update brought one little issue or other (eg. sound would have issues; sleep not working right). If you can't debug/develop your own extensions, you have to sit around and wait for someone else to figure it out and publish. And the update process, for me, had some very specific steps to keep machine running (eg. you could not use the built-in OS software update, you needed to download the combo update, set some switches, install, run some extra add-ons to fix various things/extensions).

    Can be a fair amount of work to setup and keep running, but if looking for a learning experience and looking to kill some time, Hackintosh is an option.

    ADD: if OP has not visited this thread yet, here's what it'll take to make things happen:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1761432
     
  7. iMac-Do-You? macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Location:
    Brexitland
    #7
  8. BenTrovato macrumors 68020

    BenTrovato

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    ^

    Head on over to Tony Mac! Lots of info. If you have found people with that laptop who have done it then obviously it's possible. I've never tried with a laptop but my desktop is a powerhouse hackintosh.
     
  9. RV-ABZ, Oct 29, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014

    RV-ABZ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    #9
    OSXLatitude specializes in hackintoshing Dell Latitude laptops. Head over there and look at the existing threads for the E4310. However, I believe these models are 1st gen/Arrandale "i" Core CPUs with 1st gen Intel HD graphics.

    Depending on the screen connector type (eDP or LVDS) you may or may not obtain full graphics acceleration (you get either just CI or full QE/CI). There's a top notch thread on that very matter at InsanelyMac. From memory, the E4310 is unfortunately a laptop with the "wrong" connector... Without full graphics acceleration, OS X runs fairly poorly.
     

Share This Page