Installed 3.0 phone won't connect with iTunes

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rockinrocker, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #1
    OK, so I installed 3.0 on my 3g (build 7A341 just like in the Gizmodo article)
    and it seemed to install fine, but it shows it needs to be connected to iTunes and when I do it tries to connect to the store and it won't and I get an error (-9807).

    Is there anyway to just roll it back it 2.3? I did a back up right before installing 3, but the only option that comes up is eject, no option for restore.

    Any help would be great, thanks.

    (And please spare us the lectures about how I should have waited. I know, I know, thanks:D)
     
  2. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #2
    you cant roll back to 2.3 because that doesnt exist.. and I think once you update to 3.0 you cant go back to 2.2.1
     
  3. RxMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #3
    You have to register that device in the developer portal......
     
  4. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #4
    not 3.0GM
     
  5. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #5
    Sorry, yeah, 2.2.1 or whatever.

    So does anyone know what that error means then?
     
  6. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #6
    Yes, it's the GM.
     
  7. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #7
  8. Ninja Dom macrumors 6502

    Ninja Dom

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #8
    To go back to 2.2.1 you need to download that firmware and have it on your computer (iTunes may already have it).

    You need to put your iPhone into DFU mode (Google how) and then in iTunes you then Option + Restore (Mac) to the 2.2.1 file. Shift + Restore in Windows.
     
  9. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #9
    it wont work because of the different modem firmware thingy right?
     
  10. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
  11. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #11
    Yes.
     
  12. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #12
    then try the DFU mode and restore again
     
  13. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #13
    Is this true? Am I gonna brick it if I try to restore?
     
  14. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #14
    you wont brick.. it will just fail to restore.. have you tried what i suggested
     
  15. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #15
    OK, put it in DFU, now it says it's restoring.

    Sound right?

    thanks.
     
  16. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
  17. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #17
    yep... hopefully it will go all the way through you did select 3.0 to restore right?
     
  18. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #18
    No, cause I'm an idiot. It didn't work of course, but I'm retrying with 3.0 now.
     
  19. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #19
    lol.... do you need a hug ;)
     
  20. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #20
    haha, maybe a little, I'm on a trip and I'm a little screwed without a phone.
    It looks like it's working this time... (crosses fingers)
     
  21. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #21
    how did it go?
     
  22. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #22
    shute, I'm getting the same error again when it try's to connect to the store.
    9807.

    Anything else I can do? Try again?
     
  23. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #23
  24. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #24
    oK, so that other thread worked.

    3.0 is installed and booted, but none of my stuff is on there anymore. Can I just click sync?
     
  25. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #25
    yes!
     

Share This Page