Installed 3 browsers

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by baboyako, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. baboyako macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    I'm a bit disappointed with mac browsers:
    I have to use Safari because the java app of one of the websites only work with Safari.
    I have installed Firefox because of its addons like zotero. But can't run the java app I run in Safari
    I installed Camino because it's fast but it can't run the java app nor does it have the addons.
    Now, why do i have to run 3 browsers?
    in Windows, Explorer works fine (of course despite its bugs).
    Any way out?
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    Firefox should work for everything. What does not work?
     
  3. OnlyMarcusCannn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #3
    What do you mean, "any way out?"
    Any way you can run java apps on Firefox or Camino?

    As far as I know you can run java apps on both Firefox and Camino (maybe you could post a link to the app so others could test for you?), but if it's really a big deal for you, then maybe the simplest way out would be to just use Explorer on Windows for web browsing. :)
     
  4. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #4
    Well what's wrong with Safari? The OP said it it's the only browser that runs the Java app he needs and he never said that he was having a problem with Safari so my question is why does the OP need multiple browsers?
     
  5. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #5
    Any day now you'll be back to one, when Firefox III hits the streets. ;)
     
  6. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #6
    A Java app should work in all browsers...if not, something's probably misconfigured. I've never messed with the Java VM settings on my Macs though, the few Java apps I've run into have always just worked in FireFox.
     
  7. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #7
    Please explain. You sure you don't mean Javascript?
     
  8. baboyako thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #8
    I'm sure it's a java app not a script. Error was something about a null pointer. Works fine in Safari (but not the other two).
    I'm running multiple browsers because each browser has its downside. Addon Zotero only works in Firefox 2 while Camino seems to be snappier. I'm hoping Firefox 3 comes out soon!
     
  9. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #9
    Well zotero seems to tie you to firefox. Personally I use stuff like endnote/stand alone apps for that.
     
  10. pinktank macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005

Share This Page