Installed 4GB Crucial Memory however

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gixxerredliner, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. gixxerredliner macrumors regular

    gixxerredliner

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #1
    It didnt boot up, my iMac made the noise like it wanted to cut on however it didn't. I put the old 1GB of memory back into it and it booted up just fine. Does anyone know what could be the problem? thanks
     
  2. gjw4u macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    More information on what exact type of memory you are trying to install on which model Mac is needed.
     
  3. gixxerredliner thread starter macrumors regular

    gixxerredliner

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #3
    ok

    I have a 2.4 800mhz imac and i have 2-2gb kit of Crucial memory 2gb 200 pin ddr2
     
  4. dollar398 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #4
    Ram Doa?

    Was the ram pushed in all the way? Make sure that it is. If that's not it then that RAM is DOA and send it back.
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    I have a similar problem 2.8 ghz iMac core2 duo, existing 2x1gb 800 mhz, replacing with 2x2gb from Crucial. nothing but beeps. replaced original ram, and it's fine. tried 3 times, so obviously doa. How much of a hassle will it be to get Crucial to replace it or should I just write off the $ 47 and try another brand?
     
  6. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #6
    They will replace it, RAM has a higher failure rate out of the box than most other computer components.
     
  7. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #7
    it's no hassle at all with Crucial.com

    They're really good about exchanges and returns.
     
  8. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    Well..So..tomorrow I call Crucial and after an hour or so struggling with voice response and reaching a person who speaks English they give me an RMA (assuming I can convince them the ram is DOA). Then they send me a UPS label in the mail which would presumably arrive by in another 4-5 days. Then I have to package the RAM and send it back to Crucial, so another 4-6 days waiting for the RAM to get back to crucial. Then they have to test the ram to see if it's really bad, and IF it is they authorize a replacement RAM. Hopefully it won't be on a Friday, meaning I have to wait for Monday for shipping. Then I have another 5 days or so to get the replacement RAM. Never mind I paid extra for 2 day shipping. So perhaps after 4 weeks or so I'll have some replacement RAM? which may not work either? How is this a good deal? I just wanted to improve the performance; it works all right now. And how much is it going to cost me to pay for faster shipping, if I can?
     
  9. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
  10. itommyboy macrumors 6502a

    itommyboy

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Titletown USA
    #10
    Wow man they must be after you Old Wiz! :eek: Same thing happened to me with them a couple weeks ago. But everything went smooth as silk for me. I sent them an email for an RMA - they returned my email with an RMA. I put the RAM in one single bubble wrap envelope with a nice note saying hey I'd like a refund and so they obliged. This all total was about 3 days. I had found some nice RAM locally however, and understand your frustration on playing the waiting game. It's the chance we take when shopping on the cyborz spaze!
     
  11. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #11
    Lucky you. my e-mail request for an RMA was denied - the returning e-mail said I have to call support to get an RMA; it's supposedly the only way to get an RMA.
     
  12. fteoath64 macrumors regular

    fteoath64

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #12
    It is just shocking if the RAM were really DOA. Whatever happens to QC ?. Are companies just shoving boxes these days or these "made-in-china" parts are really crap ?. The the amount of money we pay for such things, one would expect failure rates in the order of 0.01% but what I am seeing are several percentage points.
     
  13. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #13
    That's a pretty badly informed statement you just made. Who do you think is more likely to post on the Internet about their RAM installation experience? Someone like me who had zero problems with their 4GB Crucial RAM upgrade or someone who had issues?

    The percentage in all likelihood is around .01% bad, but when you consider that thousands of these kits are sold every day you are bound to see people reporting problems with their RAM upgrade.
     
  14. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #14
    Absolutely right. If the percentage were much higher the cost of replacing the defective RAM would wipe out the profits. They probably lose money on every order they have to replace if it's just memory.

    I finally got an RMA after arguing with Crucial - they seemed to think I simply had the wrong memory, not a DOA. I was sitting in front of the computer and reading off the information from System Profiler. They thought I should have 667 mhz rather than 800 mhz since that's what they thought the iMac used.

    Even though I had installed the RAM 3 times and switched back to my original 3 times, they tried to get me to take it apart again and try the new RAM modules one at a time. They were not happy when I said no.

    The cost to return the RAM via same shipping as they sent it to me is half the cost of the RAM itself. $48 to buy the RAM $7 for shipping 2 day. sending it back 2 day costs $25.

    I miss the old days when there were local places where you could go and buy components and if it didn't work take it back and get it replaced on the spot.

    Maybe I should change my user-id to Grumpy old coot.
     
  15. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #15
    OP what exact kit number/part number did you buy?
     

Share This Page