Installed a set of x5355s and my Mac Pro won't restart

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CNU182, Sep 1, 2014.

  1. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #1
    Any tips or clues?

    I've tried clean installs, resetting the smc/pram, & repairing disk permissions

    Operates cleanly if I shut down or start up, just doesn't want to restart.

    Thanks!
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. CNU182 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
  4. jfalberti macrumors newbie

    jfalberti

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Location:
    Visalia CA
    #4
    Mine works fine.

    I have the same machine, and did the very same processor upgrade, and mine is working fine. What version of OS X are you running? I'm running Mavericks (10.9.4).
     
  5. CNU182 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #5
    10.9.4 here as well, though the issue cropped up in 10.7 once I put in the new processors.
     
  6. jfalberti macrumors newbie

    jfalberti

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Location:
    Visalia CA
    #6
    I was already running Mavericks before I did my processor upgrade. I used Tiamo's replacement boot.efi to install Mavericks. Did you use Chameleon to install Mavericks, or Tiamo's replacement boot.efi?
     
  7. CNU182 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #7
    Tiamo's
     
  8. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    What exactly does it do? KP or does nothing? Did you perform clean install or upgrade? I had once similar issue with one customer's 1,1 before and after CPU upgrade. It turned out to be HDD/corrupted filesystem issue. Replacing HDD with new one + clean install cured the problem.

    If it does KP, post the KP log.
     
  9. CNU182 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #9
    i'll have to double check i usually run it headless. but i have done a clean install of 10.9 since, and it didn't seem to resolve the issue.

    I'll do some more investigating tonight.

    Thank you!
     

Share This Page