installed new HDD, computer won't start

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jdoran, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. jdoran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    I just installed my new hardrive into my imac and when I turn it on I come to a blank screen that contains a small, blinking folder icon that altenatly show a mac "Finder" icon, and then a question-mark. I opened the computer back up and found everything installed correctly. All the wires were attatched and nothing was missing. I put my old HDD back in and the computer worked fine. The new ram (which was installed along with the new HDD) was recognized and everything was running fine. What do you guys think the problem is. I'm using a 17 inch 1.8 GB G5 iMac ( without iSight camera) and I'm running the latest version of tiger. The new hardrive I installed was a WD Caviar SE16 500 GB SATA Hard Drive. I bought it from NewEgg. Any and all help is appreciated (even tips on returning the drive.) Hopefully I'll have the drive intalled correctly tomorrow. Thanks in advance! Justin
     
  2. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #2
    Did you format the new drive using the original install disc?
     
  3. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #3
    That is a sign that your computer can not find a bootable drive, which contains a Mac OS on it.


    Just pop you OS X DVD in, Initialize the drive [HFS+], then Install OS X.
     
  4. jdoran thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #4
    thanks!

    I'll give it a try tonight and tell you how it goes.
     
  5. Jestered macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #5
    As stated above....

    You put an empty or blank drive in the computer. So when you turn it on, there is nothing on he drive for the computer to read or boot from. You have to boot to the install disk, erase the drive (initialize) and then install the OS. Once that is done you will boot into the OS and go through the setup assistant.
     

Share This Page