Installed Opti-Bay, now don't have sound

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tydog07, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. Tydog07, Mar 13, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013

    Tydog07 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #1
    I did some googling and searching on this forum, but couldn't come up with a clear-cut way to install an opti-bay on my 15" MBP early 2011. Can anyone help a brother out?
     
  2. saturnotaku, Mar 13, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2013

    saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
  3. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #3
    Thanks, I followed the video and installed the drive and got the mac to recognize it just fine.


    Though now I don't have sound on my macbook, whether it be through the internal speakers or headphone port. Though, when I boot up my macbook, it will do the start-up chime.

    What gives? I'm guessing it's a driver or something that must be off.
     
  4. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    So you're saying sound doesnt come out of your Mac?
    Did you remove any ribbons when you were installing the 2nd HDD?

    It could be just a stuck headphone.
    Do you see a red light in the jack?
     
  5. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #5
    No, it's really peculiar, I'm still getting the alert sounds from apps. For example, Messages still makes a beep/chime when I get an iMessage. This has to be software based right? Also, if I use the buttons to increase/decrease the volume, I don't hear the beeps that let you know how loud your speakers are, but they still function, as in if I mute them, I won't hear the Messages beeps anymore.
     
  6. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #6
    Would applecare (over the phone) assist me with this issue?
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Not likely as they only permit authorized apple dealers to repair/upgrade their machines. You are on your own when it comes to performing unsanctioned upgrades.
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Like said above, they will assist you with HDD/SSD and RAM upgrades but not optibay.
     
  9. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #9
    Called applecare, they helped me with the problem of not getting sound. I mentioned that the problem started after the installation, but they didn't seem to care. Ended up being an issue solved by installing 10.8.3, which really surprised me--though I'm ok with anything to get my mac running.
     
  10. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    You told them you were installing optibay?
    Thats a way to get blacklisted in their warranty.
     
  11. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #11
    If you don't know what you're doing then don't do it. That simple.
     
  12. Tydog07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #12
    I didn't think it'd void my warranty, and I doubt the guy on the other end cared that much.

    I do know what I'm doing, the install went flawlessly. It was a software issue caused by a fault on Apple's part, my work had nothing to do with it.
     

Share This Page