Installed SSD after boot stuck on Apple logo

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by porky2017, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. porky2017 macrumors member

    porky2017

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Can someone please help me, my macbook pro 2011 i5 late i just put in the samsung 840 pro 265 I am using a sata/ide 2.o usb cable i have initialised it
    1 partition , then guid & applied
    then i used carbon copy cloner to clone everything to the sad that all went fine i made the recovery hd, all good so far, i checked all the files after it cloned everything seemed to be on the sad, so i tried to boot before installing it it started up with the chime & it would only go as far as the apple logo,
    So i erased the disk & tried again repeated all the steps but extra careful with the setting but when i tried to boot this time i installed it still would only go as far as the apple logo.
    any ideas guys iam pulling my hair out..

    thanx heaps in advance
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Did you try to reinstall OS X via the Recovery Partition?

    It sounds like you went to a different method. Your post is a little difficult to follow, so I may have misread your steps.

    I'd reboot the Mac, hold the CMD-R down. Wait for either the internet recovery to do its thing or the normal recovery process.

    Delete the partition that's there, recreate it, format and try to install OS X.
     
  3. awests macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    You don't need to worry about GUID as that is the default and you don't need to copy over the recovery partition as CCC will do that for you.

    Try this... option key boot to your clone and form there start Disk Util and select the SSD brand name at the very top of the left column. Then go to the erase tab and erase the disk as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) in the drop down. Then quit Disk Util and start CCC then clone the old to the new.

    Now shut down and unplug the external then start. Once it starts go to System Prefs and in the Startup Disk pane select the new drive as the startup volume.
     
  5. Dekard macrumors 6502

    Dekard

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #5
    The late 2011 I believe you needed to put the mac drive in the optical bay.
     
  6. porky2017 thread starter macrumors member

    porky2017

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Hi weasalboy thanx for your reply. I did what you recommended but still no luck ,I have even tried form the recovery partition to erase & install, when i tried from the RHD it said it couldn't unmount the disk,, I rant the repair disk
    it said the partition was ok, but i have a feeling i might be using wrong cable
    the cable i am using its 2 pieces with a power adapter sata/ide 2.0
    in the samsung instructions it has this associated with a desktop pc.
    for laptops it has a sata to usb cable its just one piece, could this be the problem..:apple:

    ----------


    montain lion 10.8.5
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Nah.. that cable should not matter. It just has external power for larger drives that draw more power. Kind of like the difference between an external drive with its own power plug vs. one that runs on USB power.

    It sounds like you have either a bad drive or a bad internal cable that connects the drive to the logic board. For some reason it seems like all of a sudden these 2010-2011 or so machines have the drive cables failing a lot.

    Were you have troubles with the old drive that caused you to do this to begin with?

    What if you pull the new drive out and boot to it externally from that USB cable. Does that work?
     
  8. porky2017 thread starter macrumors member

    porky2017

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I have tried booting both ways, it only gets as far as the apple logo, the old drive works fine, i got the SSD because i just wanted one,
    thanx for your help weasel boy, i might have to send the SSD back for another one, is there some way to test it , just incase i might be doing something wrong..
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    If you put the old drive back in then attach the SSD to that USB adaptor, can you get anywhere attached that way?

    It does kinda sounds like the drive is bad.
     
  10. smithrh macrumors 68020

    smithrh

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #10
    Sure - put your original HDD back, and use the provided USB cable and attach the SSD to that once you've booted from the HDD.

    Assuming you can see the SSD and the files on it, use the control panel and select it as the boot device, then boot. It will take a while to boot through USB 2.0, but it will.
     
  11. porky2017 thread starter macrumors member

    porky2017

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    ssd256

    thanx for your reply guys, i will try this method & get back to you, btw do you know how long should the first boot of the SSD take I know it should be under 20 seconds normally..:apple:
     
  12. porky2017 thread starter macrumors member

    porky2017

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    just a update

    I have decided to try on my 27 inch iMac went through all the steps & have finally booted from the usb & I am going to install it in the iMac, the sad seems so fast..
    I think i have a idea if you read my thread kernel panics I removed the smc kext from the resources folder & It might have something to do with not being able to boot the SSD on the macbook pro.

    I have created another problem i tried to turn on trim on the macbook pro & i got the error smc iop kext was not installed properly & needs a upgrade & now i am having the same problem with the mac pro hdd only booting to the apple logo I am hoping i can erase reset pram boot from mountain lion usb stick & install again..

    Thanx in advance..
     

Share This Page