INstalled SSD and its all gone tits up!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Daniel97, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. Daniel97 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #1
    Just installed an SSD into my Mini 2011.

    Blackmagic speed test won't run a test on it as it says drive is read only?

    WTF.

    Basically...

    Drive arrived via amazon. Placed it into a USB2 enclosure. Disk Utility, format as Mac OS Journaled.

    CCC my existing HD across to the new SSD.

    Boot up using the SSD .. all works.

    Open mac swap drives - back together.

    Black Magic .. doesn't work!?!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    You have quite a lot of problems.
    Anyway, have you tried AJA System Test or Xbench* yet to benchmark your SSD?

    *
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #3
    Dont i know it!

    Anyway - no never heard of bench but downloaded and run and the score was 239 on a Crucial M4?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    See, it works. AJA System Test sometimes doesn't work with my internal HDDs/SSDs. Maybe Blackmagic is the same.
     
  5. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #5
    disk utility shows connection point lower .. is that correct too?

    ----------

    okay it works .. but is that the speed i should get .. everything feels sluggish as hell?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    I don't know, what you mean by that. Do you mean the Negotiated Link Speed reported by System Profiler / System Report?

    ______________________________________________________
    Have a look at Activity Monitor (Applications / Utilities /) and select All Processes and sort by CPU to see what the culprit may be.
    Also check the "System Memory" tab to see what your "Page ins:", "Page outs:" and "Swap used:" are.

    image below uses sorting by CPU as an example
    [​IMG]
    Further reading:
    ______________________________________________________​

    Maybe it is indexing the SSD?
     
  7. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #7
    Indexing?

    How long does that take and is that really the problem?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Spotlight needs indexing, it shows up as "mds" in Activity Monitor.

    I don't know, it should be fast and probably not the cause of your problems.

    That is why I showed you how to use Activity Monitor to pinpoint such problem.
    If it doesn't show up there, we might have to go further.
     
  9. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #9
    not in activity monitor .. it took 55 seconds to boot the mini up with the SSD and its a 64GB drive, 19GB in use ..
     
  10. charlieroberts macrumors 6502a

    charlieroberts

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #10

    LOL at "gone tits up" Had never heard that expression. Funny

    As for blackmagic, yeah, I sometimes got the same problem, don't know why. I booted from another osx drive and ran repair disk permissions, that did it for a while. Then I got the error again.
    thank god I hadn't bought my SSD to run benchmarks so I just got on with my life. But then again, I did no have a sluggish system like you do.
    Maybe try a fresh install, see if that works better and then migration assistant your info back.
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    Does anything else show up in Activity Monitor? What about the RAM usage visible in the System Memory tab?
     
  12. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #12
    Lol - i didnt set it as the start up drive?

    Maybe thats my problem? :p
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    Do you have any other HDD with a bootable OS connected? Have you checked System Preferences > Startup Disk?
    And what about Activity Monitor?
     
  14. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #14
    Dont think i did the first time - the second time yes.

    Hadnt changed start up disk - but i have now .. although nolonger at home to check boot up time ..

    Activity monitor showed nothing happening..
     
  15. jketron macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #15
    after you install the SSD, start the system with the supplied DVD you got with the system. After the cd finishes booting and you can open Disk Utility do so.

    Format the new disk with GPT as well as Mac Journal extended (its under options)
     
  16. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #16
    The 2011 Mac mini does not come with an optical disk drive (ODD) or any grey Restore DVDs, only with the Lion Recovery Partition.

    The OP already formatted the SSD correctly, otherwise, s/he couldn't have had Mac OS X installed or cloned onto it.

    Is "GPT" short for "GUID Partition Table" like "APT" is short for "Apple Partition Table"?
     
  17. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #17
    boot time has increased now at about 20 seconds.

    what does annoy me though is when it turns on the TV finds the reolution about 5 times before it settles and displays a picture. It alternates between 50hz and 60hz
     
  18. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #18
    I've heard nothing but problems about using CCC to move from conventional hard drives to SSDs.
     
  19. jketron macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #19
    Is "GPT" short for "GUID Partition Table" like "APT" is short for "Apple Partition Table"?


    YES
     

Share This Page