Installed SSD + HDD in MBP = Wifi No Hardware Install

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cramazing, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. cramazing macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #1
    Hi All,
    I have been reading MacRumors for years now and have learn a ton of things.
    I recently got a Samsung 830 SSD for my Mid 2010 13in Macbook Pro.
    Installing was easy after reading the forum and looking over at youtube.
    I also kept my stock 320GB HDD and put that in the Superdrive bay area.

    Before i did this, i backed up my HDD on Timemachine.

    After i installed all the hardware, i booted up my mac and restore from time machine, everything seems to be the way it was, except for my Wifi.

    The Wifi was working after the install in recovery mode, but once i restore it i have this Wifi issue that I can't even turn on.

    so what did i do wrong or how can i fix this?
    I have been looking online for help for hours and tried everything i have seen.
    any input would be appreciated.

    Thanks!:apple:
     
  2. Kraldaar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #2
    Try making a clean install of the OS...
    Something surely went wrong with the Time machine recovery.
     
  3. cramazing thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #3
    so erase whats on the SSD now under utilities, and restart from Recovery and install OS X instead of restoring?
     
  4. Weaselboy, Jun 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2012

    Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I would not erase, I would just reinstall Lion over top of the existing install. That way your data will still be there and hopefully the wifi bug gets fixed.
     
  5. cramazing thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #5
    so restore then reinstall Lion on top of that?
     
  6. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #6
    Umm, no. Just reinstall Lion, no restoring of anything first. Don't wipe your drive, just make sure you're backed up and then do a standard install of Lion. It will replace your existing Lion install but leave your user data intact.

    jW
     
  7. cramazing thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #7
    so i did this, and i updated the software, restarted my Mac, and the wifi was there, i found other networks, then 2 mins later it stopped.

    Now it says Wifi off, and i turn to clock turn on Wifi but nothing happens...

    what gives??? please help!!
     
  8. tuxon86 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    #8
    Are you sure that nothing is interfering with you wifi router signal?
    Any of your neighbor have wifi? A client of mine had bad wifi connection all of a sudden. It just happened to be that one neighbor bought and installed a router of his own recently and both were on the same channel, thus interfering with each other.
     
  9. hashholly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #9
    I would do a clean install, setup a new user.mand try the wifi for half an hour or so and see if it works. If it works fine at least you can be sure the problem has to do with the restoring of files.
     
  10. cramazing thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #10
    pretty sure this is not the case. my iPhone sees the wifi fine, my other laptops reads the wifi just fine, its just my macbook that can't find anything

    ----------

    it also says Wifi failed when i go to network pref
     
  11. cramazing thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #11
    so i did a fresh install and now my mac doesn't even have the Wifi icon on the top...
     
  12. hashholly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #12
    Possibly a hardware issue? I would pop back open the Macbook and make sure you all wires are plugged in and everything is seated as it should be. If that doesn't resolve it, I would take it in to the apple store and have a genius check it out.
     
  13. cramazing thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #13
    yea i'll do that again, at first i thought i damage the camara/wifi cable. but i tested the camera and it works fine, so i assume the cable is ok too.
     

Share This Page