Installed SSD in my 2010 Mac Mini Server

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by radiohed, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. radiohed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, ME
    #1
    I got a 256gb SSD for Xmas and installed it in one of the drive slots on my 2010 mini server running ML Client. The drive I got is a OCZ Vertex 4, which is sataIII, even though my mini only runs at sataII speeds. I figure down the road, when I buy a new mini, I can still use the drive and get the full speed benefits. :cool: But even at sataII speeds, the mini is like a new computer. :eek: Everything is much faster and the install wasn't really hard. You just have to be gentle with the little connectors. So anyways, now I have a much faster mini with a 256gb SSD and a 500gb hard drive and 8gb ram. I think it will serve me well. :D I also ordered an enclosure for my now spare 500gb drive!
     
  2. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #2
    Double your ram to 16GBs. I have your same machine. Yes, it can be done. I currently have dual 750GBs HDs, I needed the space more than the SSD.
     
  3. northernbaldy macrumors 6502a

    northernbaldy

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Location:
    the north, UK
    #3
    I'm upgrading mine when I get home
    A 256 Samsung SSD and a 2gb HD
    All the server does now is host iTunes and the iTunes library currently sits on an external 1gb FireWire drive
    So it will be a little be tidier and we will have a spare external drive for backups
     
  4. dasx macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #4
    An SSD is the best improvement you can make to a computer these days. You can get a crappy Dell from 2006, put a Dell into it and feel you just bought it.

    When I tell people who ask to spend that extra in it they look at me like if I were crazy. "Much more expensive and much less GB. You crazy?" Well. When you give it a try you can never go back to mechanical. lol
     
  5. pmcdunnough macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    #5
    I have the same server. The drive in the upper bay ( according to get info) has become unreliable. I boot off the drive in the lower bay. I want to replace the drive in the upper bay with a 256gig SSD (crucial mx100) which I bought. I am somewhat confused as to which bay is the upper bay. Is it the one closest to the base of the Mini or the one closest to the top? I assume that the drive closest to the base, which can be opened, is easier to replace? The instructions I have seen appear to suggest you need to remove the motherboard. It all seems a bit tricky.
     
  6. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    Here you go…
    Top=Upper
    Bottom=Lower
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Saileshbreaker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #7
    My SSD is on the top and OSX recognize it as lower bay
     
  8. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #8
    Sounds like you plugged the drive cable into the connector for the lower bay.
     
  9. Saileshbreaker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #9
    No I just replaced my stock HDD and plugged it to the original port
     

Share This Page