Installed windows 7 can't boot into aything!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by streetspirit909, May 29, 2009.

  1. streetspirit909 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #1
    Hi I have one of the old 24 inch white iMacs, have installed the latest 32 bit version of windows 7.

    installation seemed to go ok, however when it tries to boot into windows it says there was a software or hardware error and gives me all the safe mode options, doesn't boot into windows, just restarts when it gets to the screen 'starting windows for the first time' screen.

    The Machine now also won't boot into os x either!

    I went into the repair option on the windows 7 disk that couldn't solve the problem. Trying to install windows 7 again to see if that works. But if it doesn't not really sure what else I can do!?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    After the boot tone did you hold down Option to bring up the boot loader to get back into OS X? I'd try reinstalling Windows 7 again later.
     
  3. streetspirit909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #3
    Hi Eidorian,

    yeah held down option, after a very long pause the mouse pointer comes up but no choice to select windows or Mac to boot from
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    What's wrong with booting back into OS X then?

    The Windows installer disc should show up as well if it's in the drive. Did the disc pass verification when burning? Did you run the image against its md5 hash?
     
  5. streetspirit909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #5
    The mouse pointer shows up but there is nothing to select, just a gray screen.

    I verified the disk yes after burning.
     
  6. streetspirit909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #6
    ah on third attempt they do show up now, booting into os x now, so that's something! Would like to get windows working is possible?
     
  7. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #7
    Did you delete the partitions? I know Boot Camp creates 2 partitions, 1 that is 200MB in size and blank/empty, then 1 you set the size to. I know of some people who delete the 200MB partition to give them "more" space, but all that does is screw stuff up.
     
  8. streetspirit909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #8
    No, I just formatted the 80GB I set aside for windows.
     
  9. streetspirit909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #9
    Hmm noticed that basically if i try and start it up in normal mode it gets a blue screen, perhaps something about a driver I'm not to sure as it doesn't stay up for long before restarting. If I load up in safe modes then I just get a message saying the rest of the setup can't be complete in safe mode ur computer will now restart during the setting up for the first time screen.
     
  10. streetspirit909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #10
    The blue screen of death when I run it normally says 'windows has stopped your computer from starting to prevent damage', I got this very occasionally when I duel booted windows XP previously.
     

Share This Page