Installing 10.8 ML on a Separate Partition with Sierra

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Agentgfunk, Nov 8, 2017.

  1. Agentgfunk macrumors newbie

    Agentgfunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Your moms butthole
    #1
    Hey guys-

    Having a little bit of difficulty finding a known working step-by-step instruction guide on how to install Mountain Lion (or any older operating system for that matter) on a separate smaller partition on my startup SSD from macOS Sierra (this still being my primary booting system).

    I want to be able to run my copy of Pro Tools 10 on this separate partition, as many of you know it is HIGHLY incompatible with new OS's. I don't want to use any of those PT installer hacks either, as I have tried them before and PT does not run correctly with the hacks.

    I've been able to successfully bring a Mac Pro 1,1 to El Capitan, so I know something as simple as this is ENTIRELY POSSIBLE. Apple just makes things like this difficult for the non-nerd who doesn't know how to use Terminal as well as others.

    Can someone either please point me to an instruction guide or a video on this OR post a good set of instructions to walk me through it?

    I already ****ed this up earlier by trying to install a bootable USB drive directly to the smaller partition but the computer kept restarting itself with an error... I'm guessing because I guess I technically would have been trying to recover the installer itself to the partition, which in turn just made the partition a bootable partition (HA!).

    HELP.

    Please.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Fishrrman, Nov 8, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2017

    Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    If ProTools is that important to you, why "upgrade" to HS in the first place?

    Solution:
    Get an external hard drive (SSD would be good)
    Install El Cap on that.
    Install ProTools on that
    Boot it when you need to run PT.
    Problems... solved.

    I would not recommend trying to partition/install El Cap on the same drive as HS --if-- you have that drive set up as APFS.
     
  3. Agentgfunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Agentgfunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Your moms butthole
    #3
    Hey bud-

    Appreciate the advice, although this really doesn't apply to my situation.

    I'm not "upgrading" anything... Especially not to HS...

    If anything, I'd be partially downgrading.

    What I'm looking to do is install a partition on my built-in hard drive to run Mountain Lion. The other partition would run my current OS, Sierra.

    Not planning on upgrading to HS.

    So, to be very specific, I have a built-in 1 TB SSD; one partition would be running Sierra which is my current OS at 750 GB of space, which I use to run Reason 9, Guitar Rig, Final Cut Pro X, among others, and the other partition would be running Mountain Lion which I would use to run Pro Tools 10 and any after market plugins I have to run with it at 250 GB of space. Does that make sense?
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    It's pretty simple, call up Disk Utility, select your SSD, select "Partition" and click the "+" button to create a new partition.

    Then run your Lion install app and point it to this newly created partition.

    Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 10.23.35 AM.jpg
     
  5. dsemf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
  6. Agentgfunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Agentgfunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Your moms butthole
    #6
    Thanks jbarley but I already tried this without success. When I tried to launch the Mountain Lion Installer app, it gave me an error message saying something along the lines of my OS was too new to open the application or something. Any workarounds for this?
    --- Post Merged, Nov 8, 2017 ---
    My machine came stock with Mountain Lion.
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    You will need to use a USB installer to install ML.
     
  8. Agentgfunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Agentgfunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Your moms butthole
    #8
    I have a usb bootable installer which I created following the disk utility restoring technique to restore the USB drive to the Install ESD.dmg file and I'm pretty sure it successfully created it, but then when I went to install it, instead of installing properly to the partition I was directing it to, it literally installed the installer to it. I'll post a pic so you can see what I mean.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 8, 2017 ---
    Here's the pic.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 8, 2017 ---
    The second partition down is what was created. Totally dumb. I guess maybe I did it wrong or perhaps it's more of Apple's pesky anti-tamper functions to block their pro users from customizing their computers.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #9
    You did something wrong. Apple does no blocking like this.
    Without knowing the details of exactly what you tried, we can't help further.
     
  10. Agentgfunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Agentgfunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Your moms butthole
    #10
    Specifically,

    I went into Restore mode by holding 'option' when my MacBook Pro was starting up, then I clicked Disc Utility.

    Upon clicking 'Disk Utility,' I was greeted with the standard disc utility menu in macOS Sierra.

    I chose the bootable USB installer I mentioned earlier as the 'restore from' disc and chose the partition I created specifically for the process as the 'restore to' disc.

    This is how it happened.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 8, 2017 ---
    I forgot to mention after I did the above, I attempted to boot into the partition I created, assuming the installer would run, and my laptop got stuck in an error cycle of restarting itself, continually giving me the "your computer was restarted because of a problem" message.
     
  11. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #11
    I'm finding your posts a tad confusing, so let's try to clear things up...
    If you have a successfully created usb install drive, then you should be able to select it at boot-up while pressing the "Alt" key, you need to boot from this usb drive not restore from it.
    Once booted from your USB installer you should be able to complete a normal installation.
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    That's exactly the result I'd expect from what you did.
    Instead:
    Once you've booted from the USB drive, choose the option to install the operating system, don't restore in Disk Utility.
     
  13. Agentgfunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Agentgfunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Your moms butthole
    #13
    Okay maybe I'm not 'booting' from the USB properly. What would be the proper way to do this, while ensuring it is directed at the second partition?
    --- Post Merged, Nov 8, 2017 ---
    I've attempted several times to just choose the USB be drive as the selectable drive at startup. Instead of starting the installer, it sends me into a cycle of restarting and booting normally, in between telling me the computer restarted because of a problem. I guess I will try remaking a boot USB drive? Perhaps the first one got mucked up during the process but I'm running out of ideas...
    --- Post Merged, Nov 8, 2017 ---
    I tried rebuilding the boot USB from disc utility and using the InstallESD.dmg file inside the package contents of the Mountain Lion installer. Drive was created succesfully, but every time I tried to select the boot USB at startup, it again through me into a cycle of the computer 'restarting itself because of a problem.'

    Unless I am again not 'booting' from the drive correctly...
     
  14. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #14
    Exactly which computer do you have, and do you have a 10.8.5 installer downloaded from the App Store?
     
  15. Agentgfunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Agentgfunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Your moms butthole
    #15
    I have the MacBook Pro 9,2 “Ivy Bridge” model. Mid 2012. And yes I am using an App Store copy of ML.
     
  16. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #16
    Maybe try using "DiskMakerX", scroll down a bit to locate the Lion version...
     
  17. Agentgfunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Agentgfunk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Your moms butthole
    #17
    I was able to finally get it installed. It took about a million restarts and unplugging everything from the laptop except the single USB boot drive to get it to work properly.
     
  18. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #18
    Cool...

    images.jpg
     

Share This Page

17 November 8, 2017