Installing 2 separate "matched pair" RAM kits

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mustgroove, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. mustgroove macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #1
    Is it OK to install two separate 3-stick "matched pair" RAM kits in a Mac Pro? As opposed to a single 6-stick kit?

    I ordered a 3 x 4GB RAM kit which has shipped, but I ended up ordering a dual-socket Mac Pro rather than a single-socket one... so I'm wondering whether to return the 3 x 4GB kit and order a new 6-stick kit, or just order a second 3 x 4GB kit and install both...
     
  2. mustgroove thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
  3. keantan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    #3
    I did, shouldn't be a problem. I have 2 x 12GB kits in my MP (+2GB from the original RAM) = 26GB.
     
  4. myiqiscienforty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    #4
    While it may work, no, it's not ok. There is a reason why they sell sets and if you want to know why google it and research it.
     
  5. Gonk42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    near Cambridge
    #5
    Given that the two kits are to the same specs (I presume) and they will be connected to separate processors with separate memory controllers within the Mac Pro (though the two are closely linked) I would be very surprised if it didn't work ok.

    Whilst it is common to see matched sets of 3 I've not seen many matched sets of 6 for sale. If you go on the Crucial site or scan's site they both sell sets of 3 and not sets of 6 anyway.
     
  6. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #6
    Hello,

    Of course it's alright. The only thing you have to worry about is that some 8GB sticks now require exclusivity: if you put one of them in, you can't put anything else in.

    Another thing that is also alright is putting RAM without being obsessive about triple channel memory. If you *know* that the very specific type of work you do sees benefits from triple memory channel, then do it. If you don't know it for a fact, you'll benefit from getting more RAM, rather than having less at the triple speed...

    Still so many myths and exaggerations around.

    Loa
     

Share This Page