Installing 7200 rpm drive

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by gfrancetich, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. gfrancetich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #1
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    No, you will not have to make a clone

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. gfrancetich thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #3
    Thanks. So after I install it, just put the leopard install cd in and once that's done, will everything be like I just opened it?

    Sorry for all the questions, this is my first laptop, first mac, and first time upgrading anything :D
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Yes, you should just do a fresh install on the new HD from your disks that come with your computer

    The Scorpio Black is a nice drive... I opted for the Scorpio Blue myself

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  5. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #5
    I bought that exact drive a few months ago for my 15" Macbook Pro. I'll be buying the 13" and putting this drive in it.

    I would clone the drive if possible but if Apple is still providing a restore disk with iLife, etc on it, then you could just use that. :)
     
  6. skye12 macrumors 65816

    skye12

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Tx

Share This Page