Installing a 2nd DVD Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fluidedge, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    Can i install a second DVD drive myself. I only ordered a single drive mac pro, but if i can buy a DVD burner for about £20 i thought it would be an easy/cheap upgrade.

    Is it doable? Any brand/model recommended?

    Is there any DVD player software that will play blu ray on OS X? I know Apple's own DVD Player application wont. Will VLC manage Blu-Ray?
     
  2. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It is very easy to install a second PATA DVD Burner, SATA DVD drives are a lot harder to install.

    Not sure if the manual for the new Mac Pro is the same/similar to the old ones, but in my 2006 Mac Pro User Guide has the "Replacing the Optical Drive" instructions on pages 42 - 46. Apple even provides spare screws attached to the side of the optical drive carrier for the second optical drive.
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Let me see if I'm clear on how to do this:

    1) Get SATA drive: something like an LG GGW-H20L, yes? :D
    2) If it didn't come with one, get a SATA power to 4-pin molex adapter
    3) Take fan assembly out
    4) Route optical drive SATA cable down to open SATA port on motherboard
    5) Install optical drive in drive bay and connect cables
    6) Connect SATA power to 4-pin molex to internal molex
    7) Replace everything, start up

    That's right, isn't it?
     
  4. GotPro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #4
    No... you forgot one...

    8) Pray it works. :D
     
  5. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Yeah that's right, unless you happen to have an early Mac Pro where Apple managed to put too much loctite on a couple of screws holding the memory cage in place (screw turns with the metal standoff), thus stopping you from removing the fan assembly. :(

    Took me a while with a couple of long screwdrivers, torch and a pair of needle nosed pliers to install my SATA optical drives.
     
  6. bld44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #6
    Then there's that one problem about there only being one drive door on the front of the tower cover..
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Eh?!

    Do they occasionally not?!
     
  8. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    The second optical drive which I installed successfully says otherwise. :p
     
  9. GotPro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #9
    As much as I love Apple... with 3rd party hardware... YOU JUST NEVER FREAKIN' KNOW! LOL :p
     
  10. cmturner2 macrumors member

    cmturner2

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    #10
    I'm actually hoping Apple releases a Blu-Ray drive of some kind for me to fill my second slot with.
     
  11. bld44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #11
    Compare:
    [​IMG]

    (Mainly the drive doors, I know they are two different machines)
     
  12. MikeL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #12
    Do you? Nobody is asking about installing a second optical drive into a G5. All MPs have space for two.
     
  13. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #13
    this might be a good thread to post this question, with installing a second drive with the IDE cable in my 07 2.66 MacPro:

    currently my 2.66 MacPro has a SONY Dvd drive, but i was curious those that have the Pioneer 112D drives, if i purchase one and add it to my macpro will i need to install any additional software or firmware or is it ready go out of the box? (aside from double checking the jumper pin)


    thanks!

    =)
     
  14. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Should be ready to go out of the box.
     
  15. ragu macrumors member

    ragu

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #15
    Think you'll have to buy a new desktop as Blueray for Mac will also be hardware driven so no updates to fix the BlueRay
     
  16. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #16
    First of all, this is a three year old thread.

    Secondly, it IS possible to play back commercial blu-ray movies using existing hardware and software.
     

Share This Page