Installing A New HD While Saving Everything On The Current One (10.4.11)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ggm1960, Mar 29, 2009.

  1. ggm1960 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #1
    I'd like to install a bigger/faster hard drive into my older MBP. Is there a way to create a backup that quickly gets me back to where I was? This machine is running 10.4.11 so I don't have Time Machine.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper will make an exact copy of the drive.

    Here's the process:

    1. Clone internal to external

    2. Install new drive and boot from external

    3. Clone back to new internal
     
  3. Zyniker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    Carbon Copy Cloner from Bombich Software.
     
  4. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #4
    Wait, wah? Isn't the process just:

    1. Clone internal to external

    2. Install

    3. Badabing badaboom, done

    ??
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Yes, if the new internal is the external.
     
  6. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #6
    Oh, haha. Now I see what you're saying. You're talking about cloning to an external that isn't directly the 2.5" drive you're going to install.

    OP, if you can get your hands on an enclosure to directly copy from 2.5" hard drive to 2.5" hard drive, the process will be a lot easier and faster.
     
  7. ggm1960 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #7
    That's possible. I downloaded SuperDuper and it gives instructions for doing it over my network which may be what I want to try.

    Let me expand my initial question a little to say that I also have a copy of Boot Camp that I'd like to put on that computer after swapping the drives and install WinXP. As long as my restore process doesn't "demand" to literally clone to the new drive that shouldn't be a problem either yes?
     

Share This Page