Installing a new HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Maverick713, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. Maverick713 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    I wanted to know if anyone else noticed this, when you put in a new hard drive (mine is a Hitachi) just swap it it is not recognized? Its not like windows throw in a new drive and bam you're done. I actually had to boot up the old drive hook up the blank drive one and format it for it to be recognized.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Yep, that's normal, as many drives are not formatted or if they are, they use a Windows file system like FAT32 or NTFS, which is not suitable for Mac OS X as a place to store itself on. Thus you have to format it. But you can also use the restore/retail/upgrade DVD of Mac OS X to do that.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    If you've computer that doesn't have an OS, I don't think any computer would be able to use an unformatted drive.
     
  4. TnIan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    #4
    Er... you put a new, unformatted drive (without an OS installed, I assume) into your MBP and then tried to boot from it?
     
  5. AshStorm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #5
  6. Maverick713 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    when I have bought them in the past for my windows machines just slap it in and windows does the rest, OS X didn't even see it to format it.
     
  7. Maverick713 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
  8. Maverick713 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #8

    NO! I put a new drive into the machine and tried to install OS X
     
  9. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #9
    Install the new drive and boot with the restore discs that came with your Mac. From there you can use Disk Utility to format and partition the new drive. Simple!
     
  10. Maverick713 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #10
    WOW why didn't I think of that???? the drive was not seen to install the damn OS
     
  11. Maverick713 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    for the record

    I did complete the install, and it is working well.
     
  12. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #12
    And now you know! :D
     

Share This Page