Installing a Samsung 840EVO SSD into a Mac Pro 3,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jawsh, Dec 12, 2014.

  1. jawsh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    #1
    Hello.

    I am new to the Mac world. I bought a refurbished MacPro 3,1 to use for recording demos and such. I recently purchased a Samsung 840EVO SSD and am trying to install it. I realized it was not gonna fit as is so I bought a 2.5-3.5 mounting kit from a local computer store and can't seem to get that working either. If anyone has any ideas of how to get this installed, I would really appreciate. Again I am brand new to the Mac world and apologize if this is a really dumb question.

    Thank you.
     
  2. boodaddyz, Dec 12, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2014

    boodaddyz macrumors member

    boodaddyz

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #2
  3. jawsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    #3
    Ok cool. Thanks! I appreciate the quick response!
     
  4. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #4
    Tape is fine for a quick mount but I always use the NWT 2.5 brackets for everything, I have found them by far the best.
     
  5. boodaddyz macrumors member

    boodaddyz

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #5
    Haven't seen that one. I think I might go with that one after seeing it. Link to that one for op... Thanks Mav

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer+Technology/ADPTADRV/
     
  6. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Even thinking about no-matter-what-kind-of-safe-glue inside a Mac Pro makes me shudder. Keep it clean & mean inside! :cool:
     
  7. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #7
    I went through plastic icy box garbage, about 5 others I think. Not bought a different one since even for windows boxes and servers. They are slim, precisely built can remove the pcb if you need clearance behind and also improve the airflow, especially in iMacs with over half an inch slimmer than a spinner. Why bother casing an SSD?

    Roughly I must have used well over a hundred, 3 in stock I think :D
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    Welcome to the site. This is a really GREAT forum full of very knowledgable folks. You may want to familiarize yourself with the excellent search function this site offers.

    There are many ways to incorporate an SSD into a cMP and mounting it in one of the HDD bays is just one of them. In fact there are a variety of brackets that adapt the SSD to the HDD bay. In addition there are PCIe cards that allow mounting the SSD to a card that is mounted in a PCIE slot, thus offering SATA III performance vs. SATA II performance in a HDD bay. Mounting the SSD is an optical drive bay is another option.

    Again judicious use of the search function will bring up all those options.

    Lou
     
  9. mpainesyd macrumors 6502

    mpainesyd

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  10. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    ^^^^TB on a 3,1 Mac Pro? I think not. USB 3.0 or Firewire would require an external enclosure. FW either 400 or 800 is really pretty slow and not practical with an SSD. And USB 3.0 would also require a PCIe card. In addition there is an external option for SATA, but that would also require a PCIe card and an external enclosure. In short all these options are not really apropos to the OP IMO.

    The link you posted applies to the 6,1 Mac Pro. No earlier Mac Pro can be booted from a PCIe card running an external drive.

    Lou
     
  11. jawsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    #11
    Thanks, Lou.

    I am very new to all this. Just bought a Mac to record music and am struggling a bit. Sorry if I annoy anyone with my newbiness.
     
  12. boodaddyz macrumors member

    boodaddyz

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #12
    Don't feel bad for seeking knowledge. If people get upset because you ask questions they need to reflect on themselves a little bit.
     
  13. EdDuPlessis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #13
    What happened to the official Apple SSD adapter?
     
  14. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #14
    This is far & away the best way of mounting an SSD in a Mac Pro 3,1. An SSD in a drive sled will max out at about 240MBps whereas if you use an Apricom Velocity it can read & write at over double that speed. It's well worth paying the extra $80 or so especially now that SSDs are so much cheaper. Don't forget to use PCIe slot 2 for the card.
     
  15. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #15
    Where is God's Name did you get the idea that I was upset????????? I answered the OPs question and gave him many options. Exploring each of the options would have taken a book to explain. I suggested the OP use the excellent Search Function this site offers. I suggest you "reflect" on yourself before casting false aspersions on other forum members.

    Lou
     
  16. boodaddyz, Dec 14, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2014

    boodaddyz macrumors member

    boodaddyz

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #16
    Don't jump the gun bro. You misconstrued my post entirely. I was not even referring to you or anyone else at all.

    It was a statement in general.

    I was replying to the post the op made which was "Sorry if I annoy anyone with my newbiness."

    Which was... it's great to ask questions!

    Talk about casting false aspersions lol. If i was falsely accusing you, I would have quoted you in my first reply... Just like you did to me. lol
     
  17. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #17
    Your approach was the way to go, unlike the last Noob! :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. boodaddyz macrumors member

    boodaddyz

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #18
    Sigh... People don't seem to read very well on this forum :eek:
     
  19. jawsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    #19
    Uh oh. What have I done? haha I will keep asking questions when I am lost. Just didn't know if I committed a no-no by making a new thread without searching the forums first. Thanks for everyone's help. Much appreciated.
     
  20. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  21. mpainesyd macrumors 6502

    mpainesyd

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #21
    FW800 works well with SSD. Maybe not as fast as the latest Macs but a big improvement on old ones.
     
  22. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #22
    ^^^^No! FW800 speed is 800MB/s, the four Internal SATA Drive Bays provide speeds of 3GB/s. Mounting an Apricorn x2 in the PCIe 2.0 slot of a Mac Pro 3,1 has a transfer speed of 6.0GB/s.

    Lou
     
  23. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #23
    ^^^^No! ;)

    You mean "Mb/s" and "Gb/s", with a lower case "b" to mean "bits".

    Upper case "B" means "bytes".
     
  24. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #24
    ^^^^OH - Thanks for the correction and lesson:eek:

    Lou
     
  25. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #25
    Teaching and learning are in the same path for me too, Lou! ;)
     

Share This Page