Installing apps on a Nexus 7

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by sk1wbw, Mar 18, 2013.

  1. sk1wbw Suspended

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    #1
    Okay, I'm starting to hate Android. It relies too heavily on an sd card. I've got two apps right now that either will not install or will not update on my Nexus 7 because I don't have an sd card.

    What kind of ******** is this? What does not having an sd card have to do with installing apps? I'd say over the last month of me having this device, I've had about 5 or 6 apps I had to get refunds on because they wouldn't install because I don't have an sd card slot.

    Never, not once, had an issue installing apps on my iPhone.
     
  2. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
  3. sk1wbw thread starter Suspended

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    #3
    The update to PocketCasts and another game. I got them installed eventually, took about 10 attempts per app to work, I'm not sure why I keep getting this error.
     
  4. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I have had this error a couple of times

    Think it's a dodgy error message, just means it couldn't be installed for some reason, error message should give more info

    for me it's seems to happen if WiFi signal is not very strong or if I do lot of updates in one go

    don't see it very often though
     
  5. KentuckyHouse macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #5
    Hmm...I've never seen this error message and I've had my N7 since launch day. I think you're just getting an anomaly and it should rectify itself.
     
  6. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    For me it has been rectified next time I try

    If I have lots of apps to update I say update all when not using it and then leave it alone to update

    couple of times later I have gone back and 2 or 3 apps have said failed to update because it can't write to sd card, clicked update all again and these apps updated fine

    so rare that it's happened for me not thought much about it
     
  7. chagla macrumors 6502a

    chagla

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #7
    it sounds more like a problem with the app itself rather than Android. by default apps use internal space first. some apps allow themselves to be moved to sd card IF the user wishes. again that depends on the developer. i will check out this app. does it list "sd" card as requirement? i would definitely notify the developer.
     
  8. SeanR1 macrumors 6502

    SeanR1

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #8
    Are there any iPhone apps that can use an SD card?
     
  9. sk1wbw thread starter Suspended

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    #9
    Here's my error message, if anyone else ever sees these? I get these quite often.

    [​IMG]
    Untitled by ctt1wbw, on Flickr
     
  10. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #10
    As someone else said, that's the fault of the app developer, not the base OS. The developer is coding the app to specifically install on the SD. I have an SD in both my phone and tablet so I don't run into this.

    That's kind of like in Windows, some administrators offload the directory containing user profiles (Users in Win 7, Documents and Settings in XP) to D or some other drive, deleting the directory on C. When an app goes to install and doesn't use the system variables for those directories but instead hard codes C:\Users (or C:\Documents and Settings) and it's not there, UH OH!
     
  11. matttye macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #11
    Silly question but I take it you have enough space to install apps?

    USB Storage is built-in storage, so you can't blame it on the app developer. The OS is saying it can't install on both SD card AND internal storage.
     
  12. thehustleman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #12
    Lol @android relying on an SD card when the nexus doesn't even have a slot for one
     
  13. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #13
    Actually, I'm not so sure it IS the internal storage. I believe the internal storage is labeled as just that, internal storage. I'm pretty sure my Acer a500 labels the internal storage as internal, not USB. In fact, I have attached screenshots to show this. This is with 4.0.3. This tablet has a standard USB port (like on the side of your MBP) for connecting external devices such as a camera or a flash drive.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #14
    Thanks for jumping on the anti-Android bandwagon. It's most likely an app developer issue, not an OS issue. Have a nice day...
     
  15. thehustleman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #15
    Not anti - android at all (seriously have you ever seen anything I post? Lol. Android NOW>>>iOS) I was more so laughing at the idea
     
  16. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #16
    I had something strange going on when I was updating apps last night on my nexus 10. I ended up rebooting the tablet and it sorted itself out.

    I've never had the specific error message though, nor have I ever used an SD card in any of my Android devices that can accept one.
     

Share This Page