Installing Bootcamp help!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cromas, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. Cromas macrumors member

    Cromas

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #1
    hi there, me here in my new mac pro, installing everything hehe

    a question of bootcamp, when I running show the partition 5gb, my question its if I let just 5gb I think that windows run well, but if I need install a game by example of 10gb game, they dont let me beacuse I have just 5gb or that 10gb space are allow in the mac partition, iam confused about the space partitions, any good space to put to windows... my hd its 500gb
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    You have to set up your Windows partition to be the maximum size of everything you'll want installed. So if you're planning on installing a bunch of games, you'll need to make it large enough to hold Windows AND all that other stuff when you begin.

    I'd suggest you use BootCamp to get rid of your current 5GB partition, and then create a new one that's large enough. 50GB or so? I don't know how much stuff you plan on installing.
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    It all depends on how much space you think you'll need in Windows for programs.

    When I made my first Vista partition, I forced it to install Vista Ultimate in a 12GB partition. It ran faster than any version of Windows I've ever used.

    Now that I have The Orange Box, I use a 27GB partition and that works out well.

    When I get my Mac Pro, I'll give Windows 100GB of my 3.5" 1.5TB drive.

    It all depends on how much you'll use it.
     
  4. Cromas thread starter macrumors member

    Cromas

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #4
    so that its depends of the soft that I need install on windows, I have in mind that I run just windows... and the software, games and all the windows stuff can be installed on the mac partition... you know just the windows partition load the soft and run... but well Iam wrong so mmm how much need for xp and some games... mmm I have 500gb maybe put 50gb for winshit... and stuff its ok? I dont use much windows...
     
  5. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #5
    You can't have all your Windows apps installed on the Leopard side, by default Windows will be unable to access, let alone see them.

    Personally, I simply have a whole drive (I have three hard disks) dedicated solely to Windows. It works for me. :)
     
  6. Cromas thread starter macrumors member

    Cromas

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #6
    mmm yeah that its a great idea... but well I buy other one later... a friend told me windows on a mac, so get a virus... and destroy the hard disk, so scared...
     
  7. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Any Viruses, Mal Ware etc. that you get on a PC you can get on a Mac in the Windows hard drive. That is the good part about keeping the Mac stuff separate. You can always delete the Windows drive and start over without destroying the Mac stuff.
     
  8. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    I run a 30GB partition (on my iMac) and it seems to be comfortably large enough for the OS (WinXP) plus apps and games.
     

Share This Page