Installing CS5 - How to remove CS3

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by malbright, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. malbright macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #1
    Hi folks,
    Can anyone help me understand the protocol I should use for installing CS5 Design Premium and getting rid of my CS3 apps?

    By the way, this will be an upgrade installation from a download.

    Your expertise would be really appreciated!

    Many thanks.
     
  2. blake836 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
  3. malbright thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #3
    Appreciate the answer, thanks. But some have said that the previous installs should be removed BEFORE the new CS5 version is installed, otherwise, if the previous versions are removed AFTER the new install, some vital bits and pieces will be removed and it will negatively effect the new install.

    This is the crux of my question.
     
  4. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #4
    DONT use app zapper. CS3 is special and it wont remove everything. Use the CS3 uninstall thats in the Adobe folder.

    Yes, its true that if you install afterwords crucial pieces will be missing. Trust me. First hand experience (and reinstalling CS5 now).
     
  5. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #5
    I don't know how upgrades to CS5 are set up but IIRC in the past adobe's upgrade installer searched for the previous version before it would install the upgrade
     
  6. duky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    I uninstalled CS4 after installing CS5 and had no issues so far but I guess the safest way is to uninstall it prior to installing CS5. and yeah don't use App Zapper, in the Utilities folder in Applications there is an uninstaller that Adobe provides
     
  7. usclaneyj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #7
    If your CS5 is an upgrade, it will want proof that you own a previous version. If that previous version is on your system it will just roll with it.

    If that previous version is not on your system, you will need to enter the CS3 Serial Number.
     

Share This Page