Installing different programs.

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by SRLMJ23, Feb 5, 2012.

  1. SRLMJ23 macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Whenever I try to install something for example Chrome, it installs fine but in my applications folder the icon for Chrome is black and white with a white circle and a line through it. I don't get why it does this, I ejected the install file from Finder and that did nothing. So then I restarted and that fixed it.

    There has to be something I am doing wrong, I am new to the Mac so please take it easy on me. My question is, what do I do when I install Apps and they do that?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It's very common. There are several ways to fix it.
    • Relaunch Finder
    • Log in and log out.
    • Restart your computer.
    • Drag the Application folder off the Dock and re-add it.
     
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    That usually occurs when the application is incompatible with your OS or platform. IF you are actually running Lion, you have to run an Intel compatible binary. However, if you are running a PPC machine, you will be unable to run Chrome or Firefox 4 or higher due to them being Intel only.

    TEG
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    That is false. It happens with many apps that are downloaded and installed. It has nothing to do with compatibility.
     
  5. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Sorry for being such a noob, but how do i restart finder, and what will that do?? I really never had anyone explain exactly what finder is or does.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    • Hold the Option key while you right-click Finder's Dock icon, then select Relaunch.
    • Command-Option-Escape, then select Finder and click Relaunch
    Finder is like Windows Explorer. It's used to view/manage your files and folders.

    Mac 101: The Finder
     
  7. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    So if I re-launch Finder the apps should appear as they should???
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes, or you can use any of the other methods I posted.
     
  9. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    Why does it do that?? I'm just curious. Coming from Windows you just downloaded the installer and the program installed, none of this refreshing finder or restarting.
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    It just doesn't refresh the icon properly. It has nothing to do with functionality; only appearance.
     
  11. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    Now you're saying it doesn't refresh the icon? I thought you said it would?

    GG, I really appreciate your help, dealing with my noob questions.
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    You asked why it does that. I replied that it just doesn't refresh the icon properly. Doing any of the procedures I posted will refresh the icon.
     
  13. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Whats a good program I can try this out on, I know like no Mac Applications (outside of the store)
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    I thought you just did install Chrome, where that happened.
     
  15. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #15
    Okay, I did download Chrome and it did the weird thing in the dock so I just restarted the computer and that took care of that.

    Now I downloaded Firefox and I tried both options you gave and in my Applications folder in the Dock it is still in black and white a circle with a slash through it. I don't think I should have to restart every time I install an Program. I must be missing something here.
     
  16. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    I gave you 4 options. See post #2. If you don't want to log out, restart or relaunch Finder, you can use the 4th option.

    Restoring Folders to the Dock
     
  17. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #17
    applications i download using chrome always do that. after launching the program once or twice, it should go away and be replaced by a real icon.
     
  18. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    I guess I'll just restart though its not really the option I want to do but it works. For some reason the options you are giving me are not working or I am just not able to follow instructions (which I know I'm following them) I don't want you to get annoyed with me.
     
  19. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #19
    I'm not annoyed at all. There's no need to restart, especially for something that's purely a cosmetic issue.
    1. Click down and drag your Applications folder off the Dock, then let go and it disappears in a puff of smoke.
    2. Use these instructions to re-add the Applications folder to the Dock:
      Restoring Folders to the Dock
     

Share This Page