Installing Eclipse on Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by abijnk, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I am having a very hard time getting Eclipse working on my MBP running Snow Leopard. I downloaded the Eclipse IDE for Java developers (mac cocoa 64 bit), and extracted all the files. What more do I need to do? I haven't used Eclipse in years, but I don't remember needing to do anything more to launch the application. Whenever I double click the icon it does the opening animation (or a single bounce if I pull it into the dock) and absolutely nothing happens. Can someone help me?

    Thanks
     
  2. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #2
    Abbie,

    That is all you should need to do. Have you tried the 32 bit version instead? I have been running Eclipse on SL since the beginning with no problems. That being said, I think I am running the Carbon 32 bit version.
     
  3. abijnk thread starter macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    I'm downloading it right now, actually. :eek: I'll see what happens.
     
  4. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #4

    I just loaded 32 bit Cocoa up and it is running fine. I have no need for 64 bit so I have never tried it. I used to use Netbeans, but since they have been having issues on the Mac platform I have decided to avoid them for now. ;)

    Keep up posted and I'll try to help if I can.
     
  5. abijnk thread starter macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I figured it out. It wasn't being unzipped properly. How totally random... I've got both the 32 and 64 bit versions up and running now.

    Thanks for your help, daflake
     
  6. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #6
    People seem to be pushing for the 32-bit version, but I had problems with the Subclipse plugin in Eclipse that were resolved by switching to the 64-bit version, so I'd recommend that.
     

Share This Page