Installing Evince

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gtr053, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. gtr053 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    #1
    Does anybody know how to install evince for OS X?

    I have tried so many methods:

    I have downloaded and tried six different Debian packages.
    I have installed Fink and to my luck, it can't find evince when i use apt-get. However, if I do fink list, there it is.
    I have tried downloading the source and compiling it myself.

    None of these have worked for me. Has anybody been successful with evince on a Mac?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Why would you need it? What does it do that apps like Preview can't?
     
  3. gtr053 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    #3
    I don't have to have it. But in my programming class, we use evince while on Ubuntu. I have configured everything on my MBP to allow me to do all of my work without restarting the computer and all that garbage. But for sake of similarity, I'd like to be able to use the evince command in Terminal.
     
  4. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    Try to Virtualbox and install Ubuntu in it and then install all required software to do your work.
     
  5. gtr053 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    #5
    Excuse my stubbornness, but I cannot stand virtual machines. Plus, that will eat up unnecessary memory when in use and hard disk space. :/
     
  6. gtr053 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    #6
    Wow. I feel pretty stupid right now. I was using sudo apt-get install evince. I got it to work by using fink install evince.
     

Share This Page