Installing Games on Crossover

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by thefireboy, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. thefireboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Wales
    #1
    I am trying to install Dawn Of War on my mac using Cross Over Games.
    When i need to insert disk 2 i try to eject Disk 1 but OS X won't let me because 'DoW Disk 1 is in use'.
    How can i solve this because i don't know of a work around
    Cheers
    Jake
     
  2. thebrainiak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #2
    INstalling games on crossover

    Hey Jake, I'm having the same problem installing Counter Strike: Source.
    If you found a solution please reply.

    Thanks

    Branislav
     
  3. thefireboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Wales
    #3
    Do you have it on disk or did you buy it from Steam?
    If you bought it then it does work but i haven't found a solution to installing it i am afraid
     
  4. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #4
    Use the "Eject" button on the Crossover install window. You can't eject it any other way. I installed LotR: Battle for Middle Earth 2 with the multiple disks that way.

    BTW: Dawn of War and the first 2 expansions work fine in Crossover Games. I own that game, too. I never did get Soulstorm, though. I did get Dawn of War 2, but that won't work in Crossover because of the Games for Windows Live stuff in it isn't supported.
     
  5. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #5
    IIRC there are problems installing the CD based DoW games that were eliminated with the DVD's. You'd probably be best off asking for help over at the CodeWeavers forums. Fot what it's worth I've gotten all the DVD based DoW games installed under CrossOver without a hitch.
     
  6. mgsfan18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I couldn't get The Sims 2 on crossover because the install just stops instead of saying insert disc 2
     
  7. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #7
    Sometimes, mounting the CD as a disc image will get around CrossOver installation problems, it you have bootcamp/Parallels/Fusion then you can also often drag and drop the required game into a new CrossOver bottle and it will work fine.
     
  8. shiseiryu1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #8
    Crossover... :(

    I tried Crossover with Half-Life 2 but it just wasn't acceptable/playable. I have Parallels 3 and it's even worse when trying to play games. If they had a port of HL2 for Mac I'd buy it b/c I hate having to use Bootcamp every time I want to play. It runs really smooth in Bootcamp though. :)
     
  9. aluminumapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #9
    guys also check on the Compatibility section in Crossover to see if you Can play it.
     
  10. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #10
    Half Life 2 runs great under CrossOver on my old 2Ghz C2D with an X1600 so there seems to be something wrong with your setup shiseiryu1. Parallels/Fusion are going to give you much poorer gaming performance then Crossover as they are vitualizing a whole machine, not just acting as a layer for single apps. I've found Code Weavers's compatibility section to be fairly useless as it seems to be rarely updated, just doing a Google search usually yields better results.
     
  11. jesusisalive macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    #11
    Fixing the swapping CD error

    nstallation for Dawn of War and the expansion Winter Assault required swapping out CD's. Testing with the 'Anthology' collection, I couldn't get Crossover to 'eject' the CD to continue installation

    Workaround: Copy contents of each CD into one folder. autoplay.ini is on each CD so I kept CD1's and skipped the files from the rest of the CD's.

    Now all that remains is to install software through Crossover using the 'select installation folder' method. Use this procedure with Winter Assault too.

    However! Out of the box DoW v.1 ships with copy protection. This means that the game needs to have CD1 inserted to play. I found that Crossover wouldn't 'mount' the disk, meaning that DoW would return an official error and not load up.

    The solution to this is to download the combo update from the relic site
    http://88.198.39.149/~dowpatch/, all the way up to 1.51 installing as normal through Crossover. The good news is that 1.51 patch removes the copy protection meaning the game loads up without any further problems. (There are further problems with the CD key validation for online paly, but this error is covered on the relic site http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=51566

    Long winded, took me an age to figure out but the only waiting time for you should waiting for the patches to download.

    Once in the game runs very very well on the highest settings. There can be a slight texture problem occasionally, but so far this has been intermittent and solved by reducing the shadow and light quality to 'medium' in the settings.

    Tested on Crossover 7.0 in a win2000 bottle.
    OSX 10.4.11


    Hope this Helps.. I copied this form another forum but i thought i should post it incase someone else needs it ;)
     
  12. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #12
    the eject problem is also in the Orange box, I had to go into console and type in some commands to unmount it and allow to eject. some ppl have used disk utility to get it to eject but that didn't work for me.
     
  13. HDready-graphic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #13
    Hello, more that one year later, I have the solution :
    go to the program menu (on the topbar) > command,
    select the bottle where is mounted the CD and type : eject.
    Maybe you need to create a bottle and then install the game inside.
    Enjoy ;)
     
  14. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #14
    best solution would be to install steam and run the orange box that way.

    fail thought we were talking about tOB. disregard =)
     
  15. ProstheticHead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    I've had nothing but trouble with crossover. Just run Bootcamp.
     
  16. borcanm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
  17. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #17
    bootcamp might be easy for the non-techincial people... but it still requires you to run Windows... some of us would rather not play a game at all than have to run Windows and not be running OSX. "bootcamp" is not a valid solution to many people.
     
  18. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #18
    I'll try to provide a possible solution then. can you make an ISO of the discs and then allow Crossover to install one, unload the first ISO disc and mount the 2nd? Lol I doubt the OP cares anymore but eh whatever
     

Share This Page