Installing Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TheRevolution55, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. TheRevolution55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #1
    How do I install a two grahics cards on a 2.8 mac pro I am planning to buy two Hd Radean 3870's to crossfire and a mac pro in july. How do I do this, do the cords to crossfire come with the card, or do I have to buy them??? Are there intructions that come with the cards that would show me how. Do I have to connect the cards somehow and is there any risk of breaking my the mac pro? Im really lost sorry. Thanks for the help.

    Justin
     
  2. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #2
    I'm not even sure you can use that particular card in a Mac, especially if you are using it under OS X. The 3870 looks to be for Windows only. I believe the best multiple graphics card you can put into a Mac Pro is the ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT. Even then I'm not sure if crossfire will work, I think the multiple graphics card are for multiple displays, not increasing the graphics speeds.

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_pro/faq/mac-pro-support-pc-video-cards-sli-crossfire.html

     
  3. Phatpat macrumors 6502a

    Phatpat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #3
    This Apple support thread essentially says crossfire will work under Boot Camp, but not under OS X. Though presumably your video would still work in OS X, you just wouldn't get the performance boost from the second card.

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1558146&tstart=0

    The PC 3870's generally come with a crossfire bridge; it's just a connector on the top of the cards. Extremely easy to install and minimal risk of damaging your computer. Here's a sample 3870 that shows the bridge and connector on top of the card, if you click on the images:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125086


     
  4. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #4
    you have go buy a crossfire bridge (i don't think it comes with the 3870)
     
  5. TheRevolution55 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #5
  6. chewietobbacca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #6
    Most 3850's and 3870's do indeed come with the CrossFire bridge
     
  7. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #7
    Yea, it comes with the bridge. The card just arrived here at our office. But we have both the 2600 and the 3870 in there, and in theory you are not suppose to use the bridge, correct? It's only for 2 of the same model cards. But I don't think the MacPro supports the bridge yet.
     

Share This Page