Installing hard drives

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by leftPCbehind209, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. leftPCbehind209 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #1
    Got my new hex and have my Caviar blacks ready to install.

    I haven't turned the Mac Pro on yet - should I turn it on and go through setup and then install the caviars? Or, can I install them first and then turn on the computer for first time?
     
  2. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #2
    You should probably turn it on make sure everything works then add your own HDD's.

    Just my opinion don't suppose it really matters either way. I always like to make sure everything works on new hardware before I begin adding my own stuff.
     
  3. 2contagious macrumors 6502a

    2contagious

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yeah, check first. Just make sure to turn it off again before you put the hard drive(s) in :D
     
  4. leftPCbehind209 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #4
    Your signature says you have 5 HDDs - i thought we could only put 4 at max?
     
  5. PhelpsiPhan macrumors 6502

    PhelpsiPhan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Agreed
     
  6. Hisdem macrumors 6502a

    Hisdem

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #6
    You can add one in the lower optical bay with an adapter ;)
     
  7. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    When I got my MP, I put the RAM and HDs in before turning it on. Everything was fine.
     
  8. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #8
    I would recommend spending a couple days just running the machine with the native HW to make sure everything is OK. JMO.

    JohnG
     
  9. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #9
    Computers are mostly solid-state electronics, they don't need to be broken in or warmed up, lol, it's not a new diesel truck.

    Put the drives in and start it up. Anything that is DOA or faulty won't be affected either way.
     

Share This Page