Installing High Sierra - Firmware update not sticking

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by critter13, Sep 25, 2017.

  1. critter13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #1
    Anyone else having trouble installing High Sierra? Downloaded successfully, says a firmware update is needed by holding power button. I have tried multiple times but it never goes through the install on bootup. Anyone else experiencing similar problem?
     
  2. theitsage Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #2
    I've experienced this with the last few beta builds. What I needed to do was to start the installer on 10.12 rather 10.13 beta.
     
  3. critter13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #3
    Thanks, I am on 10.12 hmmm
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Which GPU are you using now?
     
  5. critter13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #5
    AMD 7970
     
  6. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #6
    Holding the power button in long enough? Have to wait until the LED flashes and/or you hear a very primitive sounding PC-like beep.
     
  7. fairbanx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    I did the firmware update during beta but I'm still prompted to do a firmware update again. Hm, new firmware version?
     
  8. critter13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #8
    yes i saw flashing and heard loud beep. sat at grey screen for a few minutes then normal bootup. after bootup installer still has the Shut Down button and same instructions...
    --- Post Merged, Sep 25, 2017 ---
    "Do you have a non-flashed 3rd party graphics card in the computer? The firmware update will not install without an EFI compatible graphics card in the computer." is a response i got in another thread. I do have a flashed 7970 from MVC, maybe i should throw my 5770 in there and try?
     
  9. chrono1081, Sep 25, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2017

    chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #9
    I can't even get that far I'm still at "Installatoin is in progress. Calculating time remaining...

    I'm just going to let it go and see if it finishes. It's been doing this for probably 30 minutes.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    You already pass that phase. Firmware update has to be done before the OS installation.
     
  11. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #11
    Odd I got no prompt to update the firmware.

    I'm stlil at the "Installation in Progress, Calculating Time Remaining" screen. I'm tempted to restart it.
     
  12. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #12
    I wonder how this works if you're installing via USB media..
     
  13. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #13
    Yes, put the 5770 in and try again.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    What's that mean? Why USB media can't update firmware before OS installation? I never make any USB installer, don't know its limitation.
     
  15. critter13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #15
    5770 in and got past firmware update, Installation is in progress. Will update after successful or not :)
     
  16. LarryGood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #16
    I am having the same issue. Mac Pro Server 2010 (Mid) 5,1, with AMD 7950 Card. I am at OS X 10.12.6.

    I have a PCI-E SSD from OWC as my boot drive

    After rebooting for firmware the installation dialog box asks me to repeat the reboot. All to no avail. Ideas?
     
  17. critter13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #17
    do you have your card that came with your machine? (5770 or 5780)? swapping that in got me to the next step but now my "installation in progress" seems to be stuck
     
  18. LarryGood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #18
    I do not have the 5770 that came with my machine.
     
  19. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #19
    Just want to confirm that the 7950 is flashed?
     
  20. LarryGood, Sep 25, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2017

    LarryGood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #20
  21. critter13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #21
    mine sat at that stage for 45min, just started progressing again and says 15 min left. I'm guessing just hang in there
     
  22. critter13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #22
    Just as an update, install was successful with OEM video card. Swapped in my flashed 7970 after high sierra install and everything seems to be fine. card is recognized and metal is supported etc
     
  23. LarryGood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #23
    Glad you had a work around. Wished I had an OEM card laying around. Oh well.
     
  24. MacGarage macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Ohio
    #24
    I have a non-Mac but flashed AMD Radeon HD 7950 in my mid-2010 (has the boot screen).

    Will the firmware be an issue and should I try to find a stock card somewhere before I plan to upgrade?
     
  25. kschendel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #25
    What we need are a few "share around" GT120's. :)

    (having said that, I think I might have one in my junk drawer, and it might even work...)
     

Share This Page

68 September 25, 2017