Installing iOS 8 on a T-Mobile Test Drive iPhone

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by ronm99, Sep 5, 2014.

1. ronm99, Sep 5, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2014

ronm99 macrumors 6502

I am seriously considering switching to T-Mobile, and I received a T-Mobile test-drive iPhone 5S today.

I wanted to test WiFi calling, so I was thinking about installing iOS8 beta on it.

I don't care about losing any data on the phone, so I'm assuming that it will be straight forward to revert to iOS7 before returning.

Or am I missing something?

Thanks,
    Ron

p.s. I am a developer with a couple of apps in the app store.

2. campyguy macrumors 68040

I don't see anything or any reason one couldn't install iOS on one of their phones. I just turned mine back in a couple of days ago - it shipped with 7.1.1, and I installed 7.1.2 on it using Software Update.

I considered installing iOS 8 on it for wifi calling as I had one of my VZW iPhone 5 handsets but opted against it after finding data and voice were pretty much identical indoors and out where I live and work.

Installing iOS 7 should be QED using DFU mode after you're done with it.

3. ronm99 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks! I appreciate the confirmation!

My house has poor reception (with AT&T and Verizon I needed network extenders). T-Mobile actually seems slightly better than the other networks at my house, but in my test calls sometimes the voice quality wasn't great. I'm hoping WiFi calling will be better.

4. ronm99 thread starter macrumors 6502

So I went ahead and installed iOS8 on the test drive phone. That all went smoothly. However, I don't think I will be able to test WiFi calling. In order to use WiFi calling, you must set up an address for 911. I have tried to do this several times, but it keeps coming back with an error. I suspect that the account tied to this phone is locked so I can't change any settings, and without it I cannot enable WiFI calling.

Sigh.

5. ronm99 thread starter macrumors 6502