Installing iWork 08 a new mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macman44, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. macman44 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #1
    Hi there,


    I have iWork 08 on my iMac, but want it on my MacBook as well. What would happen if I used the same software key to install it on both machines?

    Also, how could I install it on the MacBook, as I bought it as a download (i.e. I have no CD).

    Any help would be much appreciated.


    Thanks
     
  2. ryandask8s macrumors newbie

    ryandask8s

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #2
    if it is family pack and you still have uses then it will work fine but if you don't then it won't work
     
  3. macman44 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    It's not a family pack. If I uninstall it off the iMac will I be able to install it on the MacBook?
     
  4. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #4
    No technical constraints here. You can do this in principle, but you can not do this legally.
     
  5. ryandask8s macrumors newbie

    ryandask8s

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #5
    alright so this is what will happen you can install it on both but cannot run them at the same time my dad and i did this with photoshop and it worked
     
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    uh...

    yeah...just try it. What's the worst that could happen? The Apple police storming your house?
     
  7. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #7
    This is correct. The iWork applications do not check for other copies on your network using the same serial number. The family pack is identical to the single user version except it is licensed for five installs instead of one.
     
  8. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #8
    hahahahahahah!!!!!That was good!!
     
  9. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    right

    Okaaaay.
     
  10. idsoftware macrumors member

    idsoftware

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #10
    Hi, like others said.

    I think the install it will work, but this will not be legally.

    Instead if you purchase the family pack you will have 5 licensed uisers.

    some applications, will check in the network if the same key is being used, if thats the case, then your application will not work, only 1.

    the best you can do. I install the application were you will use the most. and uninstall the other one, (if you have it installed but not entered the key yet).

    Or buy the family pack, and install it up to 5 computers.

    You have to decide. :cool:

    I hope this help.

    Cheers!
    Id Software
     
  11. Dunnart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    #11
    Check the license conditions

    I have Aperture on my iMac and just installed it on my new MacBook Pro. The license conditions specifically allow this without having to buy a family pack.

    I don't have iWork, so I don't know if this has the same condition, but they are both Mac software, so I don't see why they won't.

    cheers

    Steve
     
  12. messedkid macrumors 6502

    messedkid

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    Oshawa, ON
    #12
    YEEEAAAHHH!!

    Edit: WHHAATT!!
     

Share This Page