Installing Leopard from a .DMG

Discussion in 'macOS' started by wakerider017, Oct 20, 2007.

  1. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I have already ordered Leopard, but I was wondering how do you install leopard from a .DMG (Like the files the ADC members download) with out burning a DVD?

    Do you make a new partition or something?

    I am so confused how this is done, and would really appreciate if someone could clear this up.

    Thanks!
     
  2. l4t13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    #2
    are you an ADC? or did you download it from a torrent?
     
  3. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #3
    I hope you are just asking this for curiosity's sake...

    You have to restore the DMG to a partition on some drive, internal or external, and boot from there.
     
  4. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    You don't. You must boot from the disk which means it MUST be burned to a DVD.

    And here I go *possibly* contradicting myself. If you copied the DMG onto a firewire hard drive you might be able to boot off of that drive and install it. Keep in mind, I do not mean copy the DMG onto the hard drive, I mean use disk utility to clone the DMG contents onto the hard drive. This may not work but it would be the only possible way without burning.
     
  5. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #5
    That.
     
  6. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #6
    Can't you just create a partition on the internal drive?



    P.S. Why would I download a torrent when I already bought leopard... That makes no sense.

    I am interested in becoming a future ADC member.
     
  7. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #7
    If you bought Leopard, you will get the install DVD and wont have to worry about .dmg images, will you?
     
  8. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #8
    copy it to a firewire external hd, and boot off that.
     
  9. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #9
    Don't have a Firewire drive...

    Can I do this with the internal drive by setting up partitions?
     
  10. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #10
    im not %100 sure. why dont you just buy a blank dual layer DVD. there like $10 for 3
     
  11. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #11
    Ya I guess you could do that.
     
  12. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #12
    I'm still lost as to why someone would buy Leopard on DVD, make an image of it, then want to install from that .dmg image. Just install from the original DVD.

    Is there a particular reason you want to install from a .dmg?
     
  13. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #13
    1. Ever heard of a scratched disc? I do this with a lot of my software purchases.

    2. I am interested in becoming a Student ADC member in the future.


    Good enough for you?
     
  14. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #14
    Just a tad over defensive there....

    I'm just trying to understand the rationale behind your purpose. I cant say I would worry about reinstalling OS X so much that I'd be paranoid about scratched media...but then, I dont live in a Windows world, where its all too common to install every few months.
     
  15. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #15
    If you want to become an ADC member in the future, that implies that your not an adc member now, which then implies that you shouldnt have acccess to leopard at all!

    If you're a developer, your quite likely to know how to restore the image to a partition and boot from it. IMO, if your willing to pay the ADC membership costs, you would know how to restore the image. Also, I'd imagine there is instructions on the ADC website, or in the release notes, however I have access to neither so i can't comment.

    If you have torrent-ed the OS, then you should also be able to find install instructions.

    If you cant install from a dmg, you shouldnt be install a Beta OS IMO.

    But just my opinion, dont flame me.
     
  16. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #16
    I am not defensive... You asked the same ? Twice. I ignored you the first time...
     
  17. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #17
    The OP has been in contact with me with details of his situation... thanks for doing so. :)

    For now, assume this is a legit question and if you can help, please provide answers. If not, please don't post in this thread. Thanks.
     
  18. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #18
    Using disk utility you can use the "restore" function to make a bootable external Firewire hard drive..

    Open disk utility
    Click on restore and make sure the external HD is connected and in HFS+ format.

    In the "source" area navigate to the *.dmg file and select it.
    In the "destination" area drag the attached HD you see on the left into it.

    Click on "restore"

    Disk utility will then "restore the *.dmg onto the external HD so that it becomes a bootable disk.

    When that is finished restart your computer while holding down the "option" key.

    You will then be able to boot from what will be called Mac OSX boot disk.Or something similar :)
     
  19. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #19
    Thanks Blue! Just wanted you to know that I am not trying to do anything illegal.

    Thanks so much Peace!

    Looks like I will have to acquire a FW drive. I will be needing one for Time Machine anyway!
     
  20. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #20
    RTFM!

    Or, get in contact with the people at Apple, if you have a ADC account they are more than happy to guide you through the process.

    Why an external drive, you can install via terminal.
     
  21. LastZion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #21
    Can you use another Mac as the drive? What would happen if you restarted say a macbook in target mode, then moved the DMG over to it, then used your restore method using the "targeted" macbook as the "destination" point? Would this have any affect on the macbook's harddrive?
     
  22. davidjearly macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #22
    Well, perhaps you could explain this to the OP, as per their original request?
     
  23. thefunkymunky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #23
    You can restore a DMG image use Disk Utility to an external FW drive, external USB2 drive (if you have an Intel Mac) or a separate partition on your Macs internal drive. You only need around a 7-9GB partition for the DMG to restore and extract the contents.
     
  24. zen macrumors 65816

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #24
    Does the Leopard DVD have copy protection? Just thinking that if you're worried about scratched media, you could just burn a couple of copies of the original.
     
  25. janitorC7 macrumors 6502a

    janitorC7

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #25
    wait you can upgrade ldopard in terminal, im adc and i didnt know that, or did you mean burn the dizk from the terminal
     

Share This Page