Installing Leopard on Apple TV?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ipedro, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. ipedro macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #1
    I'm very happy with my :apple:TV but the current bottleneck resides in that here in Canada, our selection of TV shows is lagging. I considered getting a Mac Mini as a second video source where I would watch TV shows online. Then I realized that I could get a second :apple:TV (much cheaper) and install Leopard on it.

    Can anybody explain the process and reliability of installing a full OS on :apple:TV?

    My project would involve stacking both :apple:TV's. One would run normally, while the other would be a bit torrent server where the main iTunes library would sit and feed the main :apple:TV with TV shows.

    I'd install the TVshows app and VisualHub on it and throw in an automator script to make the whole process mostly hands off. TVshows downloads any new episodes of my subscribed shows, automator would throw it into VisualHub which would convert it and add it to the iTunes library which in turn would sync it to the main :apple:TV.

    Thoughts? Suggestions?
     
  2. quid squid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    los angeles
    #2

    if this is possible could you also use front row instead of itunes?
     
  3. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #3
    Won't work. The Apple TV uses a different audio chip than Macs and Leopard does (nor stock Tiger) have audio drivers for it.
     
  4. ipedro thread starter macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #4
    ^ Thanks for the info. I thought I heard of people using :apple:TV as full blown computers. Maybe they were just rumors.
     
  5. gadabout macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #5
    isn't there some way to use it without ever using sound? there's no real reason the OP would need audio out from what would probably run headless and armless anyway, right?
     
  6. ipedro thread starter macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #6
    I wouldn't really need sound if it were to simply be an iTunes and Bit Torrent server but I was hoping to use it to watch tv on sites like hulu.

    I'm becoming convinced that the best solution here is just to buy a Mac Mini which will also allow me to rip DVDs. Maybe a Blu Ray update is coming up for the new Macs and I'll just get a Mac Mini with Blu Ray as my media hub and :apple:TV as the front end.
     
  7. Metuas macrumors regular

    Metuas

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Under a rock.
    #7
    Leopard is not feasibly possible, since the Apple TV has a paltry 1GHz Intel processor and only 256MB RAM. Tiger however is very doable and runs pretty well. Search online for "install OS X on apple tv" and you should find what you're looking for.

     
  8. ipedro thread starter macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #8
    ^ Thanks for that. Looks like there is more involved than I'm willing to tinker with. Mac Mini it is :D
     
  9. Cuckoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    The Netherlands - Utrecht
    #9
    On a broken atv i've hacked away, installed mac os (10.4), but to be honest, if you actually want to use it, for whatever, buy a second hand intel mac mini..

    there are all sorts of restrictions and problems. it's really honestly not worth it... no sound for instance

    it's fun to tinker with it and play... but for actual use... forget it
     
  10. Metuas macrumors regular

    Metuas

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Under a rock.
    #10
    Yeah, and for the price of the more expensive Apple TV, you can get a refurb Mac mini. Should look cute on top of the :apple:tv.
     
  11. ipedro thread starter macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #11
    After a long search, I've come up with a solution for the lack of certain shows on iTunes Canada: I'm getting a Mac Mini that I'll run as a DVR along with El Gato's EyeTV.

    I'll set it to record my fav shows on OTA HD which will be fed to :apple:TV and I'll always have fresh TV Shows.

    Does anybody have experience with EyeTV's DVR? Does it export directly to iTunes/:apple:TV and does it specify the file as a TV Show with the show details populated?

    El Gato could make a killing by simply adding an HDD to their EyeTV: a standalone device that could record TV shows and export them to your device of choice (in this case an :apple:TV).
     
  12. drag0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
  13. bacaramac macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #13
    I have EyeTV right now and love it. I only use it occasionally, but it works great. I am using it as a ClearQAM tuner since my area has this source through the standard cable coming into my house. With ClearQAM the channel guide gets a little wonky, but works otherwise.
     
  14. gcmexico macrumors 6502a

    gcmexico

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #14
    *
    I'm pretty sure it does exactly what you just wrote...eyetv pretty much rocks...streaming you DVR recordings to your iphone through wifi is the best feature it has
     
  15. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #16
  16. milani macrumors 68000

    milani

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #17
    reread his post. He asked if an OS could be installed on Apple TV. Moreover if someone can port 10.4.8 we can assume 10.5 will follow shortly, although ram would be an issue.
     
  17. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #18
    The ATV already ships with an OS - 10.4. OP asked about Leopard, as his title indicates. And considering the minimal requirements of Leopard, it's not going to work on an ATV, unless you take out a lot of things, like Aqua, Core Imaging, etc.
     
  18. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #19
    Look here... Leopard may or may not run on it but certainly other OSes will.
    http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Main_Page
     
  19. milani macrumors 68000

    milani

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #20
    Well if he did mean just Leopard which I doubt he did I would ask why Leopard in the first place. He could do what he wants to do with Tiger no problem.
     
  20. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #21
    The title of this thread is "Installing Leopard on Apple TV?"

    Installing stock 10.4 has problems with audio because the audio chip used in the ATV is different than the audio chips used in Macs, thus stock OS X does not have the proper routines to decode the audio. There was one guy who claimed to have solved it, but his solution (if real) has not been publicized in the usual places.

    In addition, the ATV uses a special version of Quicktime that is different from what gets installed on Macs as well. I suspect this version leverages the NVidia gpu in the ATV, unlike on Macs where the cpu does the brunt of video decoding.
     

Share This Page