Installing Leopard on MacBook.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by aliceband, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. aliceband macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #1
    Basically, I have a Macbook, a year old tomorrow, with Tiger. We also have a 6 month old IMac, on Leopard. Is there anyway I can use this Leopard disc to install it on my Macbook, or will it spit and hiss at me?

    Any help would be appreciated. Cheers.
     
  2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
    Nope. The restore discs that come with a computer are specific to the model. Go out and buy it. Don't steal software.
     
  3. aliceband thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #3
    Cheers for the help.

    It's not really stealing mind, we have paid for the software, it's not like you wouldn't watch a DVD on two different players.
     
  4. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #4
    but you wouldn't watch the same dvd on two different players at the same time...
     
  5. BlackMax macrumors 6502a

    BlackMax

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    The Leopard EULA only allows you to install Leopard on single Mac (at a time) unless you've purchased the OS X Leopard Family Pack license which allows the installation of Leopard on up to five Macs.
     
  6. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #6
    .... and the 5 Macs should be owned by the common household members. (i.e. You can't buy for the neighborhood or your bridge group. It's meant for mom's iMac, sis's Powerbook, dad's MacBook Pro, and the twins MacBooks - 1 black and 1 white hehe) -GDF
     
  7. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    or your company :eek: ... as i recently found out.
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    If you're talking about Restore DVDs, it just won't work.

    If it's just a regular Install DVD then I don't see why it wouldn't work, again putting any legality issues aside.
     

Share This Page