Installing Leopard on PC

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jamess220191, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. jamess220191 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys, i have windows vista right now and it gives me nothing but grief. I cannot afford a Mac however if i buy leopard online and if i was to wipe windows of my PC completly would i be able to install leopard and run the computer as a mac?
     
  2. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #2
    This is a violation of the software EULA; we're not supposed to help people break the EULA. PCs still use BIOS, and Macs use EFI, so you can't install stock leopard on a PC without more software in the middle.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  4. jamess220191 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #6
    you might be able to depending on your components, namely the motherboard.

    google osx86 and check out the hardware compatibility lists

    i am personally running a hackintosh for what its worth

    keep in mind, its not for those who dont know anything about computers
     
  6. eezing macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #7
    Gotta love you apple fanboys... YES, it is possible to install Leopard on hardware other than Mac. You just can't learn how here, that's all.
     
  7. BobZune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    You can get the EFI-X dongle. I actually ordered one, but I don't think I'll be using it anytime soon. I got it because it cheaper before and I was going to build one. Of course the EFI-X isn't cheap and they even say on the website it's not for people who are trying to save money.
     
  9. Mr.Gadget macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #10
    Why aren't you using it? I think it is a great way to go...
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    It requires me to go buy additional require hardware such as a Gigabyte motherboard.

    Quite frankly I don't know why I bought it anymore. :rolleyes:
     
  11. Chrysaor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #12
    It doesn't make sense to buy EFI-X, since there are free, open source and better software alternatives that doesn't require any extra hardware purchase.
     

Share This Page