Installing Leopard On PowerBook G4

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kwabena, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. kwabena macrumors member

    kwabena

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Accra, Ghana
    #1
    Hello,

    I need help on this one. I want to install Leopard on my 12" PowerBook G4. 1.5 Ghz with 512mb RAM.
    The problem is my optical drive is dead and I dont have a firewire dvd drive. Any suggestions, how I can install it?
     
  2. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #2
    Put it in to target disk mode. Connect it to another Mac. Install.
     
  3. McGiord, Mar 11, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #3
    I don't know if you can boot it on target disk mode, and use another mac as a host to install leopard on your g4 by connecting it with a firewire cable.
    Maybe other MR members can correct my statement.
    ________
    Chevrolet Chevette picture
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    Connect your Mac to another Mac with a Firewire Cable. Insert the DVD into the Other Mac, then restart it holding down "C". Boot your laptop, then hold down the "T" key to enter Target Disk Mode.

    TEG
     
  5. kwabena thread starter macrumors member

    kwabena

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Accra, Ghana
    #5
    really cool solutions there. but what if i cant get a firewire cable? any
    other way to do this?
     
  6. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #6
    Not really. An Intel system could boot from a USB drive, but PPC systems can only boot from Firewire Drives.

    TEG
     
  7. SuperCompu2 macrumors 6502a

    SuperCompu2

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Location:
    MA
    #7
    Other than this, the only other option is physical removal of the drive, placing it in an enclosure or another unit, and installing similar to option 1.

    But if you're going to tear it open, you might as well just replace the optical drive. Not worth going in twice. ;)
     

Share This Page