Installing Leopard on two machines

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Luis Ortega, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #1
    I have noticed that most software licenses allow the software to be installed on your main desktop computer plus your laptop computer.
    Is this also the case with Leopard?
    If I buy a Mac Pro that comes pre-installed with Leopard in the near future, can I also use its Leopard install disks to install Leopard on my MBP which came with Tiger pre-installed?
    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. cptpower macrumors regular

    cptpower

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
  3. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
  4. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #4
    Apples' software license is a "single use" license and you are not supposed to have it installed on more than one computer at a time.

    Plus.....the version that comes bundled with a Mac Pro may well be set up to only install on a Mac Pro.......some believe that's done to prevent people from doing exactly what you're wondering about!
     
  5. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #5
    Most that all 2 installs are not OS's
    Big difference
     
  6. jstad macrumors regular

    jstad

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #6
    He beat me to it!! :D I tried this since I wanted into install the newer version of 10.4 from my Macbook disks onto my Mac Mini, no cigar :(
     
  7. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    And again and again...

    I second that. Christ, we have this same stupid conversation every OS release, new Mac release, whatever...
     

Share This Page