Installing Lion on macbook pro 2006 (core2solo)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by sevichenko, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. sevichenko macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    #1
    Hi mates, i'm following some tutorials to try to install lion on my macbook pro but i got no-no sign and i can't use it. Did you try some of them and get it working?

    thanks for all.
     
  2. sevichenko, Dec 15, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2016

    sevichenko thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
  3. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #3
    Lion NEEDS a 64 bit CPU which means the Core Duo and Core Solo will not work. People who get Lion and Mountain Lion on 2006 vintage iMacs and Mac Minis do so by upgrading the CPU to a Core 2 first
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Apple never sold a MacBook Pro with a Core Solo CPU. Do you have a Core 2 Duo or Core Duo CPU? Which model computer do you have?
     
  5. Core 2 Duo macrumors member

    Core 2 Duo

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #5
    2006 MacBook Pro's have 64 bit Core2 Duo CPU's...
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    That is not accurate. Only later 2006 MBPros shipped with Core 2 Duos
    There were, in fact, three releases of MBPros in 2006 before the Core 2 Duo arrived later in 2006 - and earlier 2006 MBPro were only the 32-bit Core Duo CPUs - hence the OPs problem.
     
  7. Core 2 Duo macrumors member

    Core 2 Duo

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #7
    As of April 2006, there were five revisions of the MacBook Pro, A-E. Serial numbers of the original begin with W8608.

    1. W8607/8, Rev. A.
    2. W8609, Rev. B.
    3. W8610, Rev. C.
    4. W8611, Rev. D.
    5. W8612, Rev. E.

    f you’ve got an earlier Mac which is a CoreDuo (not a Core2Duo), it can’t run 64-bit anyway. If you’re on a later Mac, you’ve probably got a 64-bit EFI so most 64-bit Linux distros should install and run.

    This will help...

    [​IMG]
     
  8. vddrnnr macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #8
    Hi all,

    You can get Lion on a CoreDUO.
    The easiest way is to:

    1 install Snow Leopard
    2. Partition your HD to have another partition to load Lion on it
    3. Download dosdude1 carbon copy cloner sparse image with Lion 10.7.2 from

    http://dosdude1.com/files/macstuff/lioncd.sparseimage

    4. Take a look at the youtube video for details and additional discussion



    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     

Share This Page