Installing Mavericks on a 2010 MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by harbaugh79, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. harbaugh79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #1
    I have a 2010 MacBook Pro that still only has 4G Memory, 2.4 Processor with Intel i5.

    I tried to upgrade to Mavericks from 10.6.8 (yes, I'm way behind) and it says I need almost 8G of room to do it.

    What's my next step to make this happen? More RAM? From what I can tell I can only increase the Memory another 4G. I need to upgrade the OS so that I can start using Adobe Cloud (which is already on my desktops).

    thanks.
     
  2. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    If it says 8gb of room that tells me you don't have enough hard drive space left. Nothing to do with RAM. 4gb of RAM should be fine.
     
  3. harbaugh79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
  4. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #4
    As a side note if you really have less then 8GB of free space on your HD I would recommend getting a bigger HD or making some more free space. Computers run a bit faster when they have ~10% of their HD free (I would never go below ~10).

    Also, why not update to Yosemite?
     
  5. Dented macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    #5
    I have a 2009 MBP with 4Gb ram and it's running Yosemite quite happily (as it did Mavericks before that).
     
  6. Ipadilac macrumors member

    Ipadilac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    Same Here!! I do have an SSD though too.
     
  7. MPclk2006 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    I am pretty sure this is talking about 8GB of memory on your harddrive not of RAM, I installed Mavericks on my mid2009 macbook when it had 2GB of RAM and upgraded to 4GBs later.
     
  8. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #8
    Mavericks does not need 8GB RAM. Minimum is 2GB and recommended is 4GB.
     
  9. MPclk2006 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    Correct, that is what I said, I installed it with 2GB RAM and later upgraded to 4GB RAM...
     

Share This Page