Installing MBP keyboard in MB?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by wjlafrance, May 20, 2010.

  1. wjlafrance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #1
    Hey guys, I have a previous-gen (late '09) MB and I was wondering if a MBP keyboard can be installed. Also, is there a site online that I can buy a keyboard at without the entire upper case assembly? iFixit has the entire assembly for sale for $299. I'd much rather stick a book light on the top of my screen.

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
  3. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    So, your trying to install a Unibody MacBook Pro keyboard into a unibody MacBook?
     
  4. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
  5. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    It might be possible. But you'll have to remove the whole bottom case in order to get it out (on both machines). Google some walkthroughs, as I'm sure there are quite a few telling you how to remove and case and insert the keyboard.
     
  6. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #6
    Actually it's the top case, and the keyboard is an additional assembly attached to it.

    This is going to be more trouble than it's worth.
     
  7. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #7
    Yeah, and expensive. I'll be getting an MBP next time.
     
  8. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    Oops, I meant top case. Anyway, why are you sticking a MBP keyboard into a MB for?
     
  9. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #9
    For the backlit-ness.
     
  10. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    Don't the new unibodies MacBool's come with backlit keyboards?:confused:
     
  11. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #11
    Maybe the mid 2010's, but not the late 2009's, which I have.
     
  12. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #12
    Ok. Lol your MacBook must look strange, because its white but with a black ekyboard:rolleyes:
     
  13. foltzie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #13
    Not trying to dissuade you from hacking for hacking's sake, but is the utility improvement worth the cost?

    You would also have to account for whatever interface the MBP uses to get the brightness info to the backlight mechanism and edit some plist files to get the OS to use the backlight.

    At $299 for the keyboard assembly, you might make out reasonably well to sell your old Macbook and get a new MBP.
     
  14. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    Yes, you'll have to do some modds ta make it work. Is it really worth it?
     
  15. fluffyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #15
    The connector cables are (slightly) different, and the MacBook's logic board does not supply power for the backlight. It'd require a significant amount of engineering; it's not as easy as replacing parts.

    It'd be a much, much better idea to sell your MacBook (hey, it has great resale value!) and buy a new or lightly used MacBook Pro.

    Best wishes!
     
  16. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #16
    Thanks - that's exactly the answer I was looking for. So, it'll be prohibitively difficult to get the thing apart, and then I'd have to jerry-rig the logic board. Definite no.
     

Share This Page