Installing Memory in 2.33Ghz MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jimmyjohn114, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. jimmyjohn114 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I want to buy my brother some memory for Christmas for his MacBook Pro. He has a 2.33 Ghz, 17 inch MacBook Pro. I believe that it is this one:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/SP24

    It says it supports up to 3GB, but I've read on some other random sites that if you have Leopard, which he does, it will address 4GB. I just want to confirm that though here.

    If it can address 4GB, does this look like a good buy?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231160

    Or if it can only address 3GB, should I just only buy a 2GB stick and switch it out with one of the old 1GB sticks, or do I have to buy a whole brand new 3GB kit?


    Thanks
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Three. Yes, you can swap a 1GB stick for a single 2GB stick.
     
  3. jimmyjohn114 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #3
    Ok, so it wouldn't make sense to buy a 3GB kit, just switch a 1GB for a 2GB. Will that screw anything up? Does it need to be by the same manufacturer? And also will it not allow it to run in dual channel mode?

    Thanks for your quick response
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Dual channel is overrated; the performance loss going from 2GB dual channel to 3GB single channel is negated by the increase in RAM.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Dual channel's advantage is tiny, anyway. Not the same manufacturer, just the same pinnage and speed...age...

    Here's what you need.

    That's interesting, though... OWC says it can take 4GB, but MacTracker says "can take 4, 3 addressable".

    Don't listen to OWC in this case. MacTracker is right.
     
  6. jimmyjohn114 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #6
  7. jimmyjohn114 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #7
    Just need a quick answer to that last question!
     
  8. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #8
    I would suggest staying with the same Manufacturers. Only reason I say that is different quality issues, timings, etc... From my experience, RAM is picky.

    With the price of RAM nowadays, go with 4gig even though the laptop will only use 3gig. The software will see 4gig but your chipset limitation will only utilize 3gig. I have the same Laptop but not the 17" and I put 4gig in it. I only did it for the option to expand my next laptop to 4gig if I don't choose to order it that way.
     
  9. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #9
    I've heard only good things about the GSkill stuff. You'll be fine.
     
  10. jimmyjohn114 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #10
    Okay, so I got the GSkill because it was cheaper overall with shipping.


    Last question.....Does it matter which slot I put the 2GB memory? Will it affect memory performance differently if I put it in the top or the bottom? I have no reason to believe that it would be different, but just checking anyways.
     
  11. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #11
    No difference.
     

Share This Page